Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It was great and easy. This is the first time I have ever made quiche and it turned out great. I followed the suggestion of using only 1 and 1/2 cups of whipping cream instead of the 2 cups of light cream. I sauted the onions first and I also added a 1/2 cup of grated Gruyere cheese to the 1 cup of Swiss. I made a second quiche and left out the bacon and added chopped fresh spinach and chopped mushrooms for a slightly healthier alternative. Also yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
There are so many things wrong here. It won't set because of that much liquid (it won't even fit in the crust), the onion remains raw in the end, and there's far too much salt. I used 1.5 cups light cream and it's still too loose -- and I'm not even very picky about that. It's very pretty though, and we probably WILL eat it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this for Christmas Day brunch...it was okay but didn't knock my socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
After the tragic loss of my favorite quiche recipe, :) I came across this highly rated favorite on Allrecipes. I'm always frustrated at the reviewers drastically changing the recipe, THEN rating it highly, so I was careful to look at reviews. Sure enough - 1 1/2 cups cream - NOT 2! produced a very silky quiche. I can't imagine 2 cups. Not to even mention that I made a 9" pate brisee crust, in a normal quiche dish and the 1 1/2 c filled the dish to the brim. 2 cups would have meant pouring filling down the drain. BEWARE. If you do 2 cups, scale everything up a bit and be prepared to use a deep dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent! It was the hit of our family's potluck Christmas brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is good, but I used 6 eggs and only one cup of half & half. 2 cups would totally overflow the pie crust. I also needed to increase my cooking time, and I also fried the onions in some of the bacon grease before adding to the quiche. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Usually bake this for breakfast without pie dough, in frying pan. Like others, cut back on the cream, pre-cooked onions(until translucent) with mushrooms and added secret ingredients-dash of nutmeg and freeze-dried chives. Make sure you prick pie dough and cover with edges with foil. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raleigh Carolina Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It was VERY yummy, BUT I had to cook it at 300 for over an hour for it to firm, and that was after decreasing the liquid to 1.5 cups. My favorite recipe has been Basic Quiche by Shelly and I will be sticking with that recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was really good, everyone ate it up. I only made a few minor tweaks, I sauteed the onions and only used 1 1/2 cups of whipping cream. I used a store bought frozen crust which made this super easy. I also grated the cheese, cooked the bacon and chopped the onion the day before for easy prep in the morning. I did have to bake for 10 minutes longer then the original recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
this was excellent, but i halved the bacon and doubled the cheese, eliminated the sugar (1/4 tsp. in a quiche? who would even know it was there?), and used white pepper instead of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States