Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I love this recipe. However, there are some things you must do. The absolutely most important thing is to buy a DEEP DISH shell, not the regular one. And different brands have different sizes. I do the deepest one I can find. I use four large organic brown free range eggs. I use as much bacon as I want, this time one half pound. I use one 8 ounce package of whatever cheese I feel like at the moment or what is on sale. I ALWAYS saute the onions. Now I stack it, first half the cheese at the bottom, then the bacon, then the sauteed onions, then the rest of the cheese. Then the four eggs and I use one and 3/4 cups of half and half. In that mixture, I put some hot sauce (few drops) pinch of salt, pepper, dried parsley and some nutmeg. And the 425 degrees down to 300 degrees is essential after 15 minutes. It always comes out perfect but you have to forget what time it says and just watch it until the center pops back when you push it in with your finger. All stoves are different. Love love love this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Delicious! .I used a frozen gluten free pie crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lee Giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I skipped the sugar. Only put 1/4 tsp. of salt 1/4 tsp. black pepper. Instead of light cream I used heavy cream. Was great and will make again. Oh, I made my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Cantrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I've made twice. Added sausage. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I only used 7 strips of bacon and reduced to 1 and a half cup of whipping cream. Instead of mixing everything together, I first put crumbled bacon on first layer in the pie crust and then part of the cheese along with cooked onion. Then again layer with bacon and then rest of the cheese so everyone can get even amount of filling each slice. Oh my goodness, it was so delicious and even my brother likes it and he picked up another slice. Will make this again and again. Thank you sooooo much for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly (as I do with ANY new recipe), and it tasted WONDERFUL! I found the texture of the filling to be a bit looser than I expected....creamy, I guess is the word I want. Different but not unpleasant. It came as a bit of a surprise, based on my prior experiences with quiche. I knew it was fully cooked, because my tester came out clean. Again, though, the taste was out of this world, and I finished every single bit of it. Thanks for putting this recipe into my hands! I do have to agree, though, with another reviewer, that unless you make the recipe the first time--AS DIRECTED--I'm hard-pressed to take a review seriously when it starts out with, "Great recipe, but here are the 95 ways I just changed it" and then rated their own version instead of yours. Quiche is not--repeat NOT--supposed to be a "healthy" dish. It is supposed to be eaten in small amounts BECAUSE it's rich. After taking all the flavor out of it I wouldn't rate it highly either. Most of us don't eat this kind of dish every night, but I'm glad I ate this one. I thought it was heavenly! This one goes on the meal planner--thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swtdreaming18
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
It was okay... Too much cream. I used 6 eggs, 3/4 cup 2% milk, 6 slices of prosciutto, 1/2 cup sharp cheddar, 1/2 cup smoked gouda, half of an onion sauteed, scallions, and artichoke heheartsthe temperature and timing also didn't work because it was still not cooked so I had to increase it to 350 degrees for another 5 minutes and turned on the broiler for 1 minute. Sorry, I didn't follow the recipe at all but mine did turn out delicious if that helps... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I love this! It's my new go- to brunch choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This is my favorite quiche recipe currently and has been for quite awhile. The recipe has been requested several times when I've made it for other people (as have seconds). It's excellent exactly as written except for one detail: make sure to saute the onions first. Otherwise they turn out crunchy and throw off the texture of the whole quiche. As many other reviewers point out, it tends to need more time. I typically end up giving it an extra 10 minutes before the center is set enough when a knife is inserted. Though the recipe does not need any changes, there are some that I tend to make. I often add an extra dash of cayenne and I usually put in a bit extra onion and Swiss just because I tend to have extra. With some extra onion and Swiss, I can easily fill a 9.5 inch pie crust with the amount of egg/cream filling in the original recipe (making for a slightly larger quiche so we have more leftovers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
a little salty even when I cut the salt down to 1/2, will emove salt next time since bacon and cheese are already salty. Also I cut the cream to 1 cup instead of 2 cups, 1 cup is just enough to make the pie firm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States