Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
DEE-LISH!! The only thing I would do different is to lessen the amount of cream like some of the other reviewers suggested and maybe add some spinach and mushrooms for variety next time. Other than that this was perfecto! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
make bacon, bake crust, and sauted red onions the night before... bake at preheat 425 20min - 325 for 30min cover w aluminum last 15 to 10 minutes use a larger pie dish.. I also didnt use sugar nor cayanne.. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was a great recipe, however, I did make some changes and it came out perfectly and so delicious! I used extra sharp cheddar instead of swiss and I only used 1 cup of light cream, so I did not have to worry about it being too loose and runny like a lot of people had issues with. Following the lead of another reviewer, I also sauteed the onions in the bacon fat and then drained them. I also just placed a sheet of tinfoil over the quiche (just placed it right on top, didn't wrap it) after turning the heat down to 300 so that the outer crust did not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Yes I give this 5 stars but its because I tweaked the recipe. I used thick cut bacon cooked in the oven and drained grease. Sauteed the onions so they were nice and soft. Didnt use the salt because there is enough in the bacon and cheese. Used 1.5 cups of whipping cream and skipped the pepper and sugar. My husband doesnt like pie crust so I used Pillsbury Crescent rolls for the crust. We both loved it! I also made one without a crust and that was even better, served with toast or english muffin. The quiche was nice and creamy yet light at the same time. Will def make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It was great and easy. This is the first time I have ever made quiche and it turned out great. I followed the suggestion of using only 1 and 1/2 cups of whipping cream instead of the 2 cups of light cream. I sauted the onions first and I also added a 1/2 cup of grated Gruyere cheese to the 1 cup of Swiss. I made a second quiche and left out the bacon and added chopped fresh spinach and chopped mushrooms for a slightly healthier alternative. Also yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
There are so many things wrong here. It won't set because of that much liquid (it won't even fit in the crust), the onion remains raw in the end, and there's far too much salt. I used 1.5 cups light cream and it's still too loose -- and I'm not even very picky about that. It's very pretty though, and we probably WILL eat it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this for Christmas Day brunch...it was okay but didn't knock my socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
After the tragic loss of my favorite quiche recipe, :) I came across this highly rated favorite on Allrecipes. I'm always frustrated at the reviewers drastically changing the recipe, THEN rating it highly, so I was careful to look at reviews. Sure enough - 1 1/2 cups cream - NOT 2! produced a very silky quiche. I can't imagine 2 cups. Not to even mention that I made a 9" pate brisee crust, in a normal quiche dish and the 1 1/2 c filled the dish to the brim. 2 cups would have meant pouring filling down the drain. BEWARE. If you do 2 cups, scale everything up a bit and be prepared to use a deep dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALIEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent! It was the hit of our family's potluck Christmas brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaJenemone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is good, but I used 6 eggs and only one cup of half & half. 2 cups would totally overflow the pie crust. I also needed to increase my cooking time, and I also fried the onions in some of the bacon grease before adding to the quiche. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States