Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Wonderful!!! Used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and 1 cup 2% milk. I used double cayenne pepper and black pepper. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Simple, but amazing quiche. Very small "tweaks" were that I sauteed the onion and used heavy cream in place of the light cream (still used 2 cups and it was a perfect custard-style texture). After the initial 15 minutes @ 425, I covered the crust with foil to keep it from burning and I did bake it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe suggested. VERY IMPORTANT: After removing from oven, let the quiche sit for at least 30 minutes. Quiche is really best served slightly warm or at room temperature. I can think of many possible variations of this recipe, but I loved it "as is." A keeper, for certain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe as written, except that I didn't have light cream so used 1-1/2 cups heavy cream and 1/2 cup whole milk. It fit perfectly in my 9" pie crust and came out with a lovely custard consistency and very nice flavor. In order to prevent the edges from burning, and to get the bottom of the crust non-soggy, I did bake it in the center of the oven. I only needed to add a couple of minutes to the cooking time for it to be perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Followed others suggestions and used 5 eggs and only 1 1/2 cup of coffee cream. Also added some wilted spinach and sundried tomatoes on top with chives that I rolled in the oil of the tomatoes to prevent from turning brown. The suggested time is perfect. Serve this in the morning at my B&B and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Love it! Good basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Delicious. I used half the bacon amount, all the rest as recipe called for. Baking took about 10 minutes extra and still a bit too much liquid. Next time I'll still use half the bacon, higher quality Swiss cheese and 1 cup heavy cream, 1 cup half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great base recipe, i ended up adding every veggie i had in the fridge and creamy havarti cheese then topped with lacto fermented sourcrout, creme fraiche, unrefined salt and lots of fresh ground pepper! YUMMERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
DEE-LISH!! The only thing I would do different is to lessen the amount of cream like some of the other reviewers suggested and maybe add some spinach and mushrooms for variety next time. Other than that this was perfecto! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
make bacon, bake crust, and sauted red onions the night before... bake at preheat 425 20min - 325 for 30min cover w aluminum last 15 to 10 minutes use a larger pie dish.. I also didnt use sugar nor cayanne.. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was a great recipe, however, I did make some changes and it came out perfectly and so delicious! I used extra sharp cheddar instead of swiss and I only used 1 cup of light cream, so I did not have to worry about it being too loose and runny like a lot of people had issues with. Following the lead of another reviewer, I also sauteed the onions in the bacon fat and then drained them. I also just placed a sheet of tinfoil over the quiche (just placed it right on top, didn't wrap it) after turning the heat down to 300 so that the outer crust did not burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States