Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I'm sorry but I didn't care for this recipe. I think it was the onion that put it off for me. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome! I used only 1cup of milk and substituted left over ham for bacon, 1cup 5 year old white cheddar plus 1/2 cup mozzerella for the swiss cheese. Baked in a tart pan and the amount of fillling was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strawn, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This was my first time making quiche and it turned out wonderful. I added spinach and instead of swiss cheese I used pepper jack to give it a bit of a kick. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a great simple recipe for quiche lorraine. I like simple quiche's and this one is just perfect. The only thing I do differently is leave the onions out..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonvivant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marlakay
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Easy and delicious! This is the first time I've made quiche and was crossing my fingers that it would turn out, and my family would like it because what a fun addition to our meal menus. Of six children, all had seconds except for the 6 year old twins. The only thing that kept me from giving this 5 stars was the crust was a bit soggy. Maybe the onions need to be cooked down more? Maybe skim milk isn't the way to go? Maybe the crust needs to be prebaked longer? Not sure, but I will be experimenting to see if I can find the solution. Also, I based on other reviews, I did increase the baking temp to 350* and they were done in about 50 minutes. Other than those minor issues, a VERY tasty dish that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe was very good, but there was too much filling for the pie crust. I would cut back on the cheese and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Yummy! I made mine with almond flour crust to go low-carb, and I added spinach. Perfect! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Yet again, another winner from AR! This recipe is excellent as is, but I was trying to use up an abundance of spinach from the garden so I add a couple of handfuls, chopped. Also, I didn't have swiss cheese so I used cheddar (which I know is quiche sacrilege, but it worked.) I was concerned that there weren't enough eggs, but this cooked perfectly and I will be skeptical of recipes that use more than this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Great recipe. Classic Quiche Lorraine is even simpler -- no cheese, no onion. Just bacon in the custard, pepper, salt, and nutmeg or mace. But what makes Quiche so handy is the scope for improvisation: use grated or shredded Gruyere, Swiss, Parmesan, Romano, Cheddar, Provolone... substitute ham for the bacon, or pepperoni, or sausage; make it lean (lowfat milk) or decadent (heavy cream) or in-between (whole milk or half-and-half): it always seems to be in the ratio of one egg to a half cup liquid. Use onions, leeks, shallots, scallions, chives. Prebake the crusts first brushing with a glaze (one yolk, a teaspoon water, & a half teaspoon powdered chicken bouillon. Remember to have a cookie sheet on the rack below... believe me! Serve with a nice white wine... a Chardonnay or Gewuertztraminer, depending on ingredients. Although the classic simple S&P and nutmeg/mace is always great, you could also add savory, sage, basil, marjoram, chervil or finely minced celery leaves. Chopped cooked spinach is excellent, as are broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes (peeled, seeded & dejuiced), peppers, mushrooms (shiitakes, porcini, chanterelles, oyster mushrooms -- especially prepared as Duxelles), even olives. And in place of ham, bacon or sausage one can use crabmeat, shrimp, lobster meat... In short, one is limited only by imagination, availability of ingredients, and one's budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Bacon and Cheese Quiche

See how to make a simple and delicious homemade quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States