Queso Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I changed quite a bit in this recipe as I did not have any cornstarch or sour cream. I did the Tb butter, a little less than 1/2 cup ranch dressing, 1/2 cup milk, and 1 1/2 Tbs of flour as a substitute suggestion for the cornstarch I got from a book. I mixed this and cooked it on low/med-low until hot and bubbly. Added 1 1/2 cups cheese and 1/4 cup hot salsa. It was DELICIOUS!!!!!! Great with my chips and beans! YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Thank you for a delicious recipe. I have searched forever for a good queso dip... and this is it. I did not have cornstarch, so I melted the butter then added sour cream, at this point I also added about 3 oz of cream cheese, when adding cheddar I also added some pepper jack cheese. I used a twice the salsa called for and also some bottled hot sauce (louisiana type). This was VERY GOOD! Thank you again poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
It is a very good dip with modifications. To make it a smoother consistancy I used Velveeta. This allowed me to cut out the butter and corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This is the best queso dip I have EVER tried!!!!!! It is better then any restaurant dip I have ever had too!! You have to try it!!! YUMMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is SOOOO good! I made it for a Superbowl party and couldn't stop eating it! I wanted something without processed cheese and this was so easy to make! I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Excellent and simple. Once you've figured out how easy cheese sauce is with real cheese, you'll never use velveeta again. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Not a huge fan of this recipe - it came out very "fluffy" and didn't taste very cheesy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was very delicious. For smooth results, I added a few tablespoons of cheese at a time and whisked constantly. I didn't have salsa so I improvised with an equal amount of chopped red onion and sriracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very good...I did use 1/2 sharp cheddar and the other 1/2 was velvetta to get a smoother consistency. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
Mine came out sort of lumpy. It wasn't smooth like I expected of a queso. I used sharp cheese and homemade salsa (added 2 extra tablespoons). I also added some hot sauce to give it a bit more zip. I might try it again but I would need to play with it to make it a bit smoother in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States