Queso Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I cut my fish thin and the cooking time was spot on. I did however put them under the broiler a couple of minutes to brown them up. I used white processed cheese since that is what I had leftover from another recipe and for an added kick I added some diced green chilies to the sauce. This recipe was a nice change from your everyday cornmeal/flour coating and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
The beer (used a good beer) and lime gives an interesting (in a good way) flavor to the catfish. I also added a little garlic powder to the breading as it just sounded good. Didn't bother with the cheese sauce. Took longer than the recommended baking time, even with increasing the temperature. Coating finish with a nice crunch and fish was good, but still prefer pan frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Because many people had problems with the cooking time, I read the directions on the package of my fillets. They suggested 20-25 min at 375. It definitely took a full 25 minutes, probably a couple more. Overall, I thought the recipe was okay. I would have liked more crunch. I may try again and omit the rack and place the fillets directly on my baking sheet. I had some leftover nacho cheese from a gathering of teenage girls at my house so that was a very easy way to do the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Messy. The "sauce" was more like a chunk of cheese. Add milk and it's still pasty. Coating on fish completely ruined the texture and taste of the fish. This could have been Queso tongue and I wouldn't have known the difference. My kitchen is trashed and the smoke alarm went off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Just like other folks, I had to cook this twice as long before the fish was flaking. The crust was crunchy and just a bit spicy (my 8 yr old complained). I cheated on the queso by melting cheese and adding in salsa...same effect. A nice change of pace. I'll probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I guess i should have cooked mine longer something wasn't right the cheese sauce that goes on top is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I had the same issue as another reviewer...my fillets were thick and needed about 5-6 mins longer in the oven. I only had real cheddar cheese, so I added a little milk, salsa and a small spoon of sour cream to a handful of cheddar cheese cubes instead of the chipotle and processed cheese spread. Otherwise, everything else was the same, and the dish was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This recipe was wonderful!! I varied it just a bit to fit my family's preferences, though. I used flavored tortilla chips (I think they were salsa flavored?), skipped the cilantro, and instead of the chipotle pepper, I used 1/4 cup of mild salsa and 2 Tbsp milk for the cheese sauce. It was EXCELLENT - this one is definitely going in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I may try this again and re-review it, but for now it's a 3 only b/c you have to time things right. My husband followed the recipe, but should have followed the standard fish cooking guidelines b/c our fillets were thicker than maybe the recipe allows, and he had to put it back in the oven to finish cooking. Meanwhile, the queso, which was ready when he first pulled it out of the oven, hardened. We were not able to recover the queso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very 'gourmet' with a southwestern flair. I loved it! Love the chips and catfish combo. Thanks for the inspiring dish (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Parmesan Crusted Tilapia Fillets

Turn five simple ingredients into a flavorful baked fish dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States