Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I just can't understand the negative reviews for these. I used a nonstick muffin pan to make them and had no problems with sticking. I also tried almond extract instead of vanilla. I can't stop eating them...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I don't understand all the bad reviews!!! I am a horrible cook and I managed to get these right. I just greased the pan before pouring the mixture in. They came out beautifully and tasted great!!! Try drizzling a little chocolate over it for an even sweeter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
These are great! Someone in my office brought these in warm from the oven, and they were gone within minutes. For people unfamiliar with this delicacy, queijadas are cakey on the outer edges and soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
this recipe is so easy to make. It is also very tasty. They really do not last very long because you can't eat just one! Make sure to use whole milk not skim because they just don't come out the same. I made mine with lemon zest added to batter and lemon extract. Also be sure to have a well greased muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
WOW! A little bit of heaven in my mounth! I actually made mine with fat free milk and they turned out wonderfully. Some, i didn't brown much, and others I made dark brown. In both, the middle was silky vanilla WOWness! Thanks for the recipe. I also make chocolate, caramel and raspberry sauces on the side to serve with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
If you cook these properly, these are magical. They are very sweet. The prep is very quick. These are easier to make with whole milk. With 2% they don't seem to get as golden brown or have the same texture. The time these were all mushy on the inside I blame on the 1% milk. If you make these and they turn brown before the 30 minute mark your oven was too hot and they will not be cooked inside. Greased your muffin pans well and they should not stick. If they do stick, try to slide a butter knife around the edge. If that does not help you may need to cut them in half and get them out one half at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I first found this recipe here a few years ago, and have been asked for the recipe almost every time I serve them. They taste great, and are the ideal last-minute dessert for any season, being so simple to make, with no out-of-the-ordinary ingredients. I almost always make them using non-fat skim milk. They even taste good using soy milk, although this does change the texture and flavour a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
These are so great -- it's like magic happens in the oven! I like experimenting with them -- I've had great results using melted butter and whipping the egg white (then folding it in to the rest) rather than just mixing them all together. My favorite is vanilla extract with lemon zest added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Excellent. I've tried a much more difficult version of queijadas and it came out awful. This one is super super easy and is absolutely delicious. I used 1% milk and it was yummy. I also decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and didn't miss it. Added some shredded coconut and voila...a quick dessert for any night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
These are sweet, quick and easy! If you cook them exactly to the recipe, they will come out great!! My family can't get enough of them, I even used 1% milk and I cooked them a little bit longer so they will be nicely golden brown, they look and taste just like you would get a Portuguese Bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States