Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Absolutely delicious! I ate four of these before I could stop myself. I used margarine instead of butter and it didn't seem to hurt it; next time I'll try 1% milk, too - and maybe some lemon extract. These are a very sweet, baked custard - cakey on the outside, creamy in the middle. To get mine out of the pan I let them cool completely, then used a butter knife around the edges and almost peeled them out of the cups. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
First time I've ever rated a recipe but felt I had to because this is so awesome. I've made it twice and it turned out perfrct both times! My family wants it every day! Used whole milk eventhough I would like to use less fat milk. I'm just afraid it won't turn out as outrageously good these are by following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
These are sweet, quick and easy! If you cook them exactly to the recipe, they will come out great!! My family can't get enough of them, I even used 1% milk and I cooked them a little bit longer so they will be nicely golden brown, they look and taste just like you would get a Portuguese Bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Excellent. I've tried a much more difficult version of queijadas and it came out awful. This one is super super easy and is absolutely delicious. I used 1% milk and it was yummy. I also decreased the sugar by 1/4 cup and didn't miss it. Added some shredded coconut and voila...a quick dessert for any night of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I don't understand all the bad reviews!!! I am a horrible cook and I managed to get these right. I just greased the pan before pouring the mixture in. They came out beautifully and tasted great!!! Try drizzling a little chocolate over it for an even sweeter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
These are so great -- it's like magic happens in the oven! I like experimenting with them -- I've had great results using melted butter and whipping the egg white (then folding it in to the rest) rather than just mixing them all together. My favorite is vanilla extract with lemon zest added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
If you cook these properly, these are magical. They are very sweet. The prep is very quick. These are easier to make with whole milk. With 2% they don't seem to get as golden brown or have the same texture. The time these were all mushy on the inside I blame on the 1% milk. If you make these and they turn brown before the 30 minute mark your oven was too hot and they will not be cooked inside. Greased your muffin pans well and they should not stick. If they do stick, try to slide a butter knife around the edge. If that does not help you may need to cut them in half and get them out one half at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
These 'lil things are pretty good. I made them with peaches...I don't think I would have liked it too well without the fruit. They taste much like a custard. I like them better cold than hot, but it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
these are not good. they were way too sweet! i know it was supposed to be like a custard, but these were really runny in the middle and burnt on the outside. they ended up sticking to my muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I made these hoping that my kids would love them. They WERE quick and easy to make but the final result was AWFUL!! The texture was gross and the taste was not too appealing either. I'll skip these from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States