Queijadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
My parents are from the Azores or islands of Portugal and my Godmother makes these. These are not exactly like the orignal, however they were a hit at my dinner party. I did add a potsticker lining for the cupcake and it added a bit mor texture and some crunch after sinking your teeth into the yummy custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were really good. I made two small batches. One batch was made as written, and was fabulous. The second batch I decreased the sugar by 1/2 and found that I still loved them. So in the future I'll make these with 1/2 the sugar (read: so I don't fill so bad filling them with goodies!). I've already got it in my head to make these with some grated lemon rind, then fill them with lemon curd (yum). Thanks for a quick, easy, and delicious idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
whatever you do , don't use muffin liners! they stick to the liners and are impossible to get off! They were very sweet, almost too sweet. better warm also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Delicious custardy goodness! tastes slightly like the egg custards they have at a local Chinese restaurant, but lighter and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Grease the pans! Mine turned out to a gooey lumps of custard after I dug them out of the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was a hit for us with taste and ease of preparation. I used mini-muffin tins to have smaller bites for a large crowd and added sliced strawberries on top after baking. A great first Portuguese recipe for an American living in Portugal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I looked at the picture and it looks great. The first bite was great as well....until I tasted all that egg. I'm sorry but this recipe and I don't get along. No beginner's luck here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beginner's_Luck?

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by preta75
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe. My mother made these all the time, she adds the zest of a lemon and no vanilla. Either way they are very nice, just a great memory from childhood. We would have them with a sprinkle of cinnamon or powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
The insides were still a bit gel-like, but I think they were supposed to be like that, like custard?? The batter was quite runny. I guess if thats how its supposed to turn out, then they were pretty good. I did cut the sugar down to only 1.5 cups, was just about the right sweetness. And I used almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My goodness these are extremely addictive. Honestly, one cup of sugar is all you need. Also..I greased the muffin pans with butter then sprayed with a non-stick cooking spray. Absolutely no problems with them sticking. They came out perfectly. I was a little freaked out when I first took them out of the oven because they were a litle jiggly....but no worries at all. It made 18 perfect shells... I just gave a 6 to my neighbor who let me borrow two muffin tins and between me and my daughter we have only 3 left. So easy to make. My daughter wants this to be part of a Sunday morning breakfast ritual. Yum Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States