Queenie's Killer Tomato Bagel Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Simple, fresh and delicious! Just like a Caprese Salad on a bagel. What a great idea Pattiqueen! And thank you, so much, "bellydancer" from AR Exchange for recommending this "going-in-my-favorite-file" sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very tasty sandwich. I was drawn to this recipe because my favorite salad is a Caprese salad. I made the recipe as is, and it is good, but decided to add a few drops of balsamic glaze to the top and it was perfect! I can see doing variations with mozzarella cheese. Also, fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I recommend using some pesto in place of the basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! Also added minced garlic, crushed red pepper. Try toasting the tomatos, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikoGe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Wow, this was so good! Quick and easy to make - I'd personally recommend using fresh bagels from the bakery specifically for this, and adding a light coating of butter before the cream cheese is spread. The fresher the ingredients on this, the better! For a lunch variation or something different, try adding minced garlic of the jar variety or hand-pressed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This gets 4 (and a half!) stars only because you suggest toasting the bagel - which I've personally never appreciated - although I understand some people do, but not why. Otherwise, I've been eating my bagels with cream cheese - plain, herb, scallion and garlic, whatever - and tomato for over 35 years. In fact, the bagel shop in New Jersey where I ordered these every workday morning eventually "put it on the menu" they thought it was so good. Oh, yeah - I always get a garlic bagel, not toasted, with the cream cheese and tomato (if it doesn't have garlic, it must be chocolate!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Excellent! I made these for dinner, adding some deli shaved ham. Used fresh garden tomatoes & placed the fresh basil under them, as suggested by other raters. SO good that I had one for breakfast again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
EXCELLANT taste with the fresh basil! We substituted the cream cheese for a slice of swiss and it was delicious. I will recommend one suggestion that makes these tastier and easier to eat. After toasting and adding the cheese (either kind), lay the basil UNDER the tomatoes, and then broil the halves on a cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes. This will soften and roast the tomatoes just enough to make the sandwich easier to bite into. Placing the basil under the tomatoes keeps it from crisping into nothingness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This is so simple yet is so yummy! I had made this last night, had it for breakfast this morning and now that I wen to review it, I'm mad I didn't bring it for lunch! At least I know what I am having when I get home for dinner!..I left the bagel untoasted..yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Yum! I used chives whipped cream cheese, and mini bagels with a slice of garden tomato. It was delicious and so quick - I didn't have to wait long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States