Queenie's Killer Tomato Bagel Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe. For variety though, we love adding sliced avocados. You can add the slices or smash the avocado, spreading it on top of the cream cheese, followed by the tomatoes and basil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I couldn't help but to slap a slice of provolone on top and put it in the broiler until melty... Delicious both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
i've been eating these for years,a friend made it for me once, I love it. I just wanted to add that hot peppers flakes in between the cream cheese and the tomatoes are awesome at breakfast time because they somehow bring out the flavor of coffee. The heat from the pepper flakes... and the different heat from the coffee... and some smokiness happens...VERY NICE>.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
really delicious, especially if you add a couple of your favorite veggies: avocado, red pepper, and lettucs. Made my own herbed cream cheese by mixing a softened plain tub with 2tsp milk and a handful of herbs with garlic. thanks~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Simple, fresh and delicious! Just like a Caprese Salad on a bagel. What a great idea Pattiqueen! And thank you, so much, "bellydancer" from AR Exchange for recommending this "going-in-my-favorite-file" sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very tasty sandwich. I was drawn to this recipe because my favorite salad is a Caprese salad. I made the recipe as is, and it is good, but decided to add a few drops of balsamic glaze to the top and it was perfect! I can see doing variations with mozzarella cheese. Also, fresh basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I recommend using some pesto in place of the basil leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Excellent! Also added minced garlic, crushed red pepper. Try toasting the tomatos, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikoGe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Wow, this was so good! Quick and easy to make - I'd personally recommend using fresh bagels from the bakery specifically for this, and adding a light coating of butter before the cream cheese is spread. The fresher the ingredients on this, the better! For a lunch variation or something different, try adding minced garlic of the jar variety or hand-pressed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This gets 4 (and a half!) stars only because you suggest toasting the bagel - which I've personally never appreciated - although I understand some people do, but not why. Otherwise, I've been eating my bagels with cream cheese - plain, herb, scallion and garlic, whatever - and tomato for over 35 years. In fact, the bagel shop in New Jersey where I ordered these every workday morning eventually "put it on the menu" they thought it was so good. Oh, yeah - I always get a garlic bagel, not toasted, with the cream cheese and tomato (if it doesn't have garlic, it must be chocolate!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States