Qabali - Afghani Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Kids didnt like it much - too exotic for them. I love it with Brazilian chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The boiling time of the rice has been corrected to read 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe has errors in it that cause peoples' rice to become "mushy" or displeasing. It is because of the wrong instructions given. You should never soak or wash the rice in cold water as directed, because cold water will disrupt the cooking process when the rice finally enters the boiling water. You should soak the rice in luke warm to room temp water. And further more, you should NOT boil the rice for 15 minutes, this is called "over-cooking" this is why your rice will come out mushy. You should only boil the water for 5minutes. It depends how long you soaked it, the longer you soak it the shorter time it needs to be boiled. If you soak it for 30minutes you should boil until 10min max. But if soak for more than 30min then please only boil for 5 minutes and then transfer to oven. The recipe given above is wrong and not in conformity with how good Qabuli or even good rice is made, that is why too many people are coming up with "mushy" rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Odd. My rice also ended up like mush, and after baking comes out like some sort of rice casserole. The instructions for cooking rice are unique so I think I'll stick to cooking it in the normal fashion next time. I also had a problem with the sugar in oil not dissolving properly. The flavour of the dish is interesting - halfway between savory and sweet. I have no idea if this is authentic or not, but personally didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The raisins are a nice touch. The dish smelled delicious, but the flavor was nowhere near as strong as the fragrance for me. I thought the rice was awfully boring and won't be making it again. However, I have found a new friend in golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
It was great to have a different taste to normal steamed basmati. And an easy recipe to follow. The only change I made was I added the spices first, to let them cook a little followed by the rice and carrots and raisins. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This rice is great! I ate this with some indian soup and it was great! Great flavors all together in one great dish! I added about 1 tsp of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
The first time I made this recipe I tossed it; the rice was mush, but it had a good flavor. I made it again, cooking the rice for 3 minutes after returning the water to boil. I also skipped making the sugar syrup with oil. I tried that twice and had carmelized sugar in oil both times. Instead after mixing the rice and carrot together with the spices, I sprinkled on the sugar and proceded as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Marvelous- aromatic-and delicious! Must use basmati rice. A real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States