Purple Plum Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by momma_s
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
We picked 2.5 gallons of plums off of our tree (unknown variety), and I thought this would be a great way to use them up. My plums were medium-small so I didn't use all of the skin to reduce the tart taste. The fresh plums tasted like candy but, unfortunately, the pie was still too tart for us. I used a 10 inch pan, and it was too big. Although I added extra flour and cooked the pie longer, I think that contributed to the pie being runny. I used the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe (rocks!). I can see how this recipe could taste yummy, and maybe the type of plums were the problem, but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I'll give this recipe 5 stars even though my pie didn't turn out. I don't want to mar this recipes reputation because my plums were not suffice. This is more of an "advice" than a "review". I received my half of brown bag full of plums from a neighbor and decided that because I hate to waste food, I'd try to put them to good use. Well about 7 of the bag were the size of an apricot and the rest were the size of a bing cherry. They were all over-ripe so I thought that I'd give this recipe a go because most reviews requested very ripe. Long story short, the skin of the plum is what gives it the rhubarby flavor.....tangy. The meat of the plum and the sugar gives it the....sweet. In this case, because the plums were so small, there was way more skin and not enough meat. Therefore it was extremely tart. I LOVE rhubarb pie and I could definitely taste the resemblence, but mine was over tart because of the sorry plums. I even threw a hand full of fresh blueberries in and added a little more sugar because I knew this would be the case......still didn't work. Now I'm wondering how unhappy the tree is that this fruit came from. In my opinion....if someone offers you fruit, ask if you can pick it yourself. They'll be happy to not have to do the work and you can choose or judge if you'd like any at all. By the way, I will definitely do this recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is really easy and delicious. I had too many plums that were waaay to sour, and this was the perfect way to use them. I used 4 1/2 Tbs of butter because 3 was not enough. The pie will be gone by the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
If you like a tart pie, then you will love love love this recipe. I made it exactly as described. I didn't peel my plums. I had bought too many at Costco and this was the perfect solution to using up my plums. I did use another person's suggestion and microwaved the plums with the sugar for 4 minutes. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliebelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Deemed "my new favorite pie" by a very picky friend. I thought it tasted like a blend between apple and cherry pie. I will soon be famous for this pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYLYNN6841
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was most delish! My guests and I loved it! Even better with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Delicious!! A coworker gave me a bag of home-grown plums that were starting to get soft. I found the Purple Plum Pie and Flaky Pie Crust recipes on this site. I quartered and pitted the small plums but left the peels intact, which gave the filling a texture like cherry pie. Many were skeptical about the idea of plum pie, but all were impressed upon first taste. Those coworkers offered to get me more plums so I could make another. As a final note, I had never made a pie before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I think I just found my new favorite pie. YUM!!! I used the recipe on this website for Best Ever Pie Crust. And I used a round cake pan. And I made the following modifications to this pie: Added 1/2 Cup brown sugar, increased flour to 1/2 Cup, increased cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. Combined the sliced (unpeeled) plums with the white and brown sugar, then microwaved for 4 minutes before adding the other ingredients. I didn't have lemon juice, so I used white vinegar instead (1/2 tsp vinegar = 1 tsp of lemon juice). For the topping, I wanted a thicker topping after seeing other's pictures, so I used 3/4 cup flour and also added 1/2 cup of brown sugar, increased cinnamon to 1/2 tsp and butter to 5 T (because I added extra flour and the brown sugar). We like our pies better sweeter than tart, so this is why I made these mods after reading everyone's reviews. The crust, the topping and the filling was just melt in your mouth delicious. Definitely will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I have never had plum pie before trying this recipe and I have been missing out, it is now my favorite fruit pie. If you haven't tried it you will be amazed what you have missed. I followed the recipe exactly it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Shiozaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States