Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good. I used an orange pineapple banana juice blend. My kids and I really liked it. I think next time, I'll add some strawberries. NOTE: This makes great healthy frozen pops, too. I just pour the smoothie mixture into dixie cups and stick in the freezer and when the mixture has firmed up, I stick in a popsicle stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
I replaced the orange juice with fat-free vanilla yogurt and it was much better. The juice made it too tart; this is much tastier as a creamy smoothie than a juicy smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I substituted half of the orange juice for vanilla-flavored soy milk. I had bananas, but they were not frozen. So, I added 1 cup of crushed ice. When this was blended with the rest of the ingredients I had a very cold, creamy, tasty smoothie. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
YUM! I made this every morning this past week for breakfast. I need to go restock my ingredients because I have no plans to stop now! Just a hint to those who are rushed in the morning - take time to rinse your blender and your glasses right away otherwise the blueberries make a hard to clean mess if you wait! Thanks so much for this great healthy recipe. I already feel more energetic with this healthy start to my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I am a new vegetarian, and an avid smoothie fan. I didn't think much could compete with the recipes in the Super Smoothies book, but this particular one has a lot of them beat. The only pre prep is making sure you freeze your fruit. I did make mine with the honey, vanilla, and vanilla soy milk, it was outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this as directed (with no vanilla)…at first. But Hubs found this not very “purple-y,” and also missed the creaminess of similar drinks. So as written, this was only average for him - not a big hit. Once I added more blueberries, some vanilla yogurt and a little milk, however, it was much improved, at least for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! However, I used mixed fruit instead of just blueberries. What a GREAT healthy way to satisfy a sweet craving. I also threw in a little crushed ice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Very tasty! I used 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/2 cup soy milk and 1/2 cup plain yogurt. The consistency was perfect - not too thick and not too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Quick and easy! Alos good with added strawberries and protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Great with red raspberries. 2pts for 1/2 cup WW I think. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States