Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good. I used an orange pineapple banana juice blend. My kids and I really liked it. I think next time, I'll add some strawberries. NOTE: This makes great healthy frozen pops, too. I just pour the smoothie mixture into dixie cups and stick in the freezer and when the mixture has firmed up, I stick in a popsicle stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
I replaced the orange juice with fat-free vanilla yogurt and it was much better. The juice made it too tart; this is much tastier as a creamy smoothie than a juicy smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
I substituted half of the orange juice for vanilla-flavored soy milk. I had bananas, but they were not frozen. So, I added 1 cup of crushed ice. When this was blended with the rest of the ingredients I had a very cold, creamy, tasty smoothie. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
YUM! I made this every morning this past week for breakfast. I need to go restock my ingredients because I have no plans to stop now! Just a hint to those who are rushed in the morning - take time to rinse your blender and your glasses right away otherwise the blueberries make a hard to clean mess if you wait! Thanks so much for this great healthy recipe. I already feel more energetic with this healthy start to my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I am a new vegetarian, and an avid smoothie fan. I didn't think much could compete with the recipes in the Super Smoothies book, but this particular one has a lot of them beat. The only pre prep is making sure you freeze your fruit. I did make mine with the honey, vanilla, and vanilla soy milk, it was outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Made this as directed (with no vanilla)…at first. But Hubs found this not very “purple-y,” and also missed the creaminess of similar drinks. So as written, this was only average for him - not a big hit. Once I added more blueberries, some vanilla yogurt and a little milk, however, it was much improved, at least for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
This was wonderful! However, I used mixed fruit instead of just blueberries. What a GREAT healthy way to satisfy a sweet craving. I also threw in a little crushed ice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Quick and easy! Alos good with added strawberries and protein powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Very tasty! I used 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/2 cup soy milk and 1/2 cup plain yogurt. The consistency was perfect - not too thick and not too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Great with red raspberries. 2pts for 1/2 cup WW I think. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States