Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
we have been experimenting with smoothies for days, and this one is the first one my kids love. Even my picky 10 year old who fought me on tasting it wanted one for herself. thank you for this recipe, I will try to sneak in flax seed powder and/or green vitamin powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I am rating this on my personal adjustments and the outcome in flavor. I always read reviews first and use the most frequent that suit my personal taste. In this case, I added a few healthy options (since I make these for my children) which are: hemp protein powder, wheat germ & brewer's yeast). The other additions were strawberry yogurt and a little milk. For me, this was an outstanding smoothie recipe, and I usually do not like smoothies! Thank you for the wonderful base, and other feedback! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Dahlstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very nice. As other reviewers's suggested I used vanilla milk instead of the orange juice and the results were fantastic. My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I love this recipe. I made it twice this week, once with vanilla and once without, and I think I prefer it without. I like the fact that this smoothie doesn’t call for yogurt or any dairy products. Also didn’t know that bananas could be frozen. I was leery about that but found that the banana froze nicely, no browning. It was easy to cut the banana peel with a knife. Wish I had this recipe when a friend gave me tons of bananas last spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I tried this without the honey or the vanilla and it was very refreshing and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Veryy delicious! I used Dole's frozen mixed fruit and strawberry yogurt, and then added a bit of honey to taste. Very easy to make!! Very smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
It didn't as much as I thought it would, but we both got a taste. Thought the banana overpowered. I'll stick to other smoothie recipes we've found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have any orange juice so I took the submitter's advice and used soy milk instead. It seemed a little bland, I think it could use some freshly ground nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Yum! I have tried quite a few smoothie recipes on this site and this one was great! I did add the optional vanilla extract and for the optional honey I just added one packet of Truvia. I liked that it had no dairy products as I don't always have yogurt in the house. This is probably the first smoothie, I can say, I didn't modify or need to add ice cubes to either. The only thing is the recipe indicates 5 servings. I was able to get 3 very small or 2 average sized servings. Either way, I will definitely make this again as I always have frozen bananas & blueberries in the freezer. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
The recipe is easy and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States