Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I gave it 4 stars for how it is written, however, I added buttermilk to cut the tartness a bit and this went from a 4 to a 5. Even my husband, who is a picky eater, loved it like this. Don't even get me started on my 3 yr old son. He drained his glass and then told me his tummy hurt cause he drank his smoothie to fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
We love this! We've made it for our grandkids, who love it as well! For the kids we substituted frozen mixed berries (blueberry/blackberry/strawberry/ raspberry), and it was great! It will be a regular summer treat at our house, especially when we come in from the pool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I just made this for myself and my kids for an afternoon snack. I found it to be way too strong of a banana flavor for my taste. I guess because of the color in the picture, I expected more of a blueberry flavor. Next time, I will use 1/2 a frozen banana and double the blueberries. I used milk in place of orange juice, mainly for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
First time I ever made a smoothy, and it was great. I followed the suggestion to use yogurt instead of oj. I made half the recipe, so I used a 6 oz. vanilla lite, one bannana, 1/4 c blueberries and about 1/2 c milk. It was thick and delicious. No need for honey or vanilla. It made two 8 oz. servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was so good and easy!!! I also did 1/2 cup of orange juice and 1/2 cup of soy milk. I love it. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is deeeelishious but the nutritional information is incomplete. there is no information for sugar or serving size. It would be extremly helpful to have those two included especially for those of us watching sugar content
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
All milk, slightly less than 1/4 cup sugar, 1 banana (not frozen) & 3 ice cubes. Those were my alterations and it is so good!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
We double the liquid in this, using water mostly to cut costs. We double the fruit, often using 1/2 strawberries as well. We also add a handful of SPINACH! Yes, spinach, you cannot taste or see it, the color stays purple (or really dark rusty red if you use strawberries) and it gets some greens into us painfully as we never get any otherwise. Whole family loves it, even knowing there's spinach in it. If you double the fruit and use frozen strawberries as well, you don't need to freeze the bananas. Edited to add: Obviously I meant it's a *painless* way to get some greens in. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I love this recipe exactly as written since I prefer an all fruit smoothie. I cut this down to one serving and use my immersible blender so I don't have to clean the stand blender. Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States