Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I am so happy to see a blueberry/banana smoothie that doesn't involve milk/yogurt! I chose to add applesauce (natural, without sugar kind). I used OJ to help the mix be more fluid, but used less than called for b/c of the applesauce. Definitly not too tangy! I used the optional honey and honestly though it ended up just a tad too sweet - will lessen next time. I had the vanilla on standby in case it needed more flavor, but didn't end up using it. This smoothie is very yummy and also really pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
after reading the comments i decided to replace the orange juice with fat free vanilla yogurt. the thickness of the smoothie proved the necessity of the liquid to me! it was delicious, but as i was cleaning out the blender it had more of a cake batter consistency than smoothie. next time i make it i'm going to use one half yogurt/one half milk to replace the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Too much banana for me. Had to add more blueberries. Will add less banana next time. Love the recipe tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I think that the banana was a little too strong. And there should be more blueberries. Nice try though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was great, not too sweet and not too tart! My two year old drank a cup full and wanted more! I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 1/2 cup soymilk becuase my son can only have soy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
very quick and tasty breakfast for someone on the go. Would also be great with milk. I added flax seed to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
super easy!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Excellent! I made this exactly as written - I didn't even see the comment about the milk & doubt I'd like it as well. With 2 bananas I was afraid it might get overwhelming, but it was very subtle. I'm sure the juice contributed to that a lot. (Though I made another one that had a lot of juice that couldn't cover up some overwhelming banana flavor. So perhaps the honey and even vanilla contributed to that.) I don't mind (and in fact like) a little tartness, but I think I'd also like adding some vanilla yogurt. I always have all this stuff on hand and it mixes up smoothly easily enough, which are always plus's. Definintely going into the smoothie rotation! (However, absolutely not 5 servings.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was very good but I also used soy milk instead of juice for more thicker texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this has won my hart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States