Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The orange juice I used was very tart and gave the whole smoothie a tart flavor. Fine by me, but if that isn't something that you like, I would be sure the orange juice had a sweet flavor. I also added about 3 scoops of icecream. That way there was enough for three people and I perfer the thicker texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarShyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very tasty and refreshing! I used milk instead of orange juice, omitted the honey and added a tbsp of vanilla protein powder. Surprisingly, I really liked the vanilla flavor with the blueberries! Will try again with juice next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I substituted blackberries for the blueberries. Only had 1 banana. It came out VERY thick so I added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I love this smoothie. I did make a few changes, but nothing major. I left out the honey and added vanilla soy protien instead of liquid. I also added flax seed. It was really good and leaves a pleasant aftertaste. I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe is excellent as written, although it is actually a "freeze" rather than a smoothie. Great for a hot summer day. I actually tried adding some vanilla yogurt, but that ruined it - next time, no yogurt! (Make sure you peel the bananas before freezing them - it's really hard to get the peel off). I added the 1 Tb honey, but no vanilla needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
used frozen mixed berries and a fresh banana and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a tad bit to sweet so I then added 1/2 cup of yogurt. Perfect! THe taste is outstanding but I do prefer thicker smoothies...but I will continue to make this. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Very good smoothie! I also added a couple Tbsp of plain yogurt. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Just the perfect smoothie that I was craving. I tried it both ways, one with the orange juice and one with milk. I felt it really needy the acidity of the orange juice. So the recipe is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good. I used an orange pineapple banana juice blend. My kids and I really liked it. I think next time, I'll add some strawberries. NOTE: This makes great healthy frozen pops, too. I just pour the smoothie mixture into dixie cups and stick in the freezer and when the mixture has firmed up, I stick in a popsicle stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States