Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
It didn't as much as I thought it would, but we both got a taste. Thought the banana overpowered. I'll stick to other smoothie recipes we've found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have any orange juice so I took the submitter's advice and used soy milk instead. It seemed a little bland, I think it could use some freshly ground nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Yum! I have tried quite a few smoothie recipes on this site and this one was great! I did add the optional vanilla extract and for the optional honey I just added one packet of Truvia. I liked that it had no dairy products as I don't always have yogurt in the house. This is probably the first smoothie, I can say, I didn't modify or need to add ice cubes to either. The only thing is the recipe indicates 5 servings. I was able to get 3 very small or 2 average sized servings. Either way, I will definitely make this again as I always have frozen bananas & blueberries in the freezer. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
The recipe is easy and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious and great for breakfast! I cut the recipe in half and used did use 1/4 cup fat free vanilla yogurt and 1/4 cup of OJ and added the optional honey. I do think the creaminess of the yogurt did make this a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have to say, I have made MANY unsuccessful smoothies in my time, but this one was SOO good and didn't even taste that healthy (even though it is)! The only thing I did was switch out the orange juice with milk. SO good! I will probably add some spinach in the future for extra health since you can't taste it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I had some blueberries to use along with some Silk Vanilla Light Soy, and this looked yummy! I cut the recipe in half and as mentioned, used the soy instead of the juice. Left out the honey as I didn't feel it was needed. Satisfying and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
really easy to make and super delicious! the only tip i have is to peel your bananas the night before and freeze them without the peels. otherwise they're difficult to get off. i also didn't freeze the blueberries and it didn't seem to matter. very yummy! i will make this again and again for breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I first fill my blender loosely with fresh spinach, blend with orange juice, then add sliced pieces of 1 frozen banana and 1/2 to 1 c blueberries. It's purple, and there is absolutely no taste of spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good, not too sweet, not too tart. I did use a full cup of blueberries. I loved the flavors and thought that the banana gave a creaminess without using milk/yogurt/dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States