Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
A bit too banana-y for me, I guess I was expecting a more fruity flavor. It was a bit bitsy for me as well--the blueberry skins were kinda hard. Might have been the brand I used. The texture was good and tasted ok for what I wasnt expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have been making a similar version of this for years. This was very good after a few small adjustments to make it a bit healthier! I used organic Agave instead of honey. I also added 1/2 scoop of vanilla soy protein instead of vanilla. Lastly, I added 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
soooooooo gooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I used unsweetened soya milk instead of juice, and it still turned out scrummy. My 8 yr old daughter like it too. It blended into a glorious mauve purple, but after a little while it went brown. I think this was because I didn't use frozen fruit, which I will try next time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Very yummy! I replaced the 1 cup oj for 1/2 cup blackberry yogurt and 1/2 cup milk. I also used mixed berries instead of blueberries. It was still purple! I reduced the vanilla to 1/2 teaspoon and added the tablespoon honey. I also added 4 ice cubes as my bananas weren't quite frozen. This only made two 8-12 oz servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very good. Added honey, but skipped the vanilla. I should have doubled the recipe because it was gone with a few minutes of serving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I find that bananas are too sweet for me. I make a smoothie every morning using a frozen organic berry mix, skim milk, organic unsweetened yogurt(good bacteria), unsweetened organic cranberry juice(liver cleansing)with a few drops of the natural sweetener Stevia(no calories). Ive always been a breakfast skipper but this gives you fruit, and protein and steadies my blood sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This smoothie was really good! I followed a few of the suggested changes and it came out great. My only suggestion would be to be aware of the serving size. When I saw this recipe I just quickly wrote it down on paper and didn't pay attention to the rest of the recipe details. First two mornings I made this it practically lasted me all morning to drink it all while at work until I realized what I was making was 5 servings!! Not exactly low-cal at that point! Nonetheless I adjusted and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Oxford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Great flavours! It's good for you too which is a bonus :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
mmm yummy and also it is dairy free so my brother who is fataly allergic to milk could have it.. yet it was good... most non dairy smoothies arent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States