Purple Monstrosity Fruit Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Pretty good. I added a cup of plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I had to give this a lower rating because I did not care for the orange juice in the original recipe. However, once I had it with the fat free vanilla yogurt, I was hooked. I serve this at least twice a month to my non fruit or anything health-food-y eating husband. Other than the juice, the recipe is 100% perfect, including the honey and vanilla. My daughter does not care for the texture of the fruit, so I make hers with peanut butter and chocolate syrup. It's still better than a milkshake, and has the protein from the peanut butter,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imallie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a wonderful smoothie! I did take advise from others. I substituted with 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 low fat vanilla yogurt. I also left the honey out and added a few ice cubes. Yummm! Thanks Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crittole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
A bit too banana-y for me, I guess I was expecting a more fruity flavor. It was a bit bitsy for me as well--the blueberry skins were kinda hard. Might have been the brand I used. The texture was good and tasted ok for what I wasnt expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I have been making a similar version of this for years. This was very good after a few small adjustments to make it a bit healthier! I used organic Agave instead of honey. I also added 1/2 scoop of vanilla soy protein instead of vanilla. Lastly, I added 1 tablespoon of ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
soooooooo gooooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I used unsweetened soya milk instead of juice, and it still turned out scrummy. My 8 yr old daughter like it too. It blended into a glorious mauve purple, but after a little while it went brown. I think this was because I didn't use frozen fruit, which I will try next time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Very yummy! I replaced the 1 cup oj for 1/2 cup blackberry yogurt and 1/2 cup milk. I also used mixed berries instead of blueberries. It was still purple! I reduced the vanilla to 1/2 teaspoon and added the tablespoon honey. I also added 4 ice cubes as my bananas weren't quite frozen. This only made two 8-12 oz servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Very good. Added honey, but skipped the vanilla. I should have doubled the recipe because it was gone with a few minutes of serving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I find that bananas are too sweet for me. I make a smoothie every morning using a frozen organic berry mix, skim milk, organic unsweetened yogurt(good bacteria), unsweetened organic cranberry juice(liver cleansing)with a few drops of the natural sweetener Stevia(no calories). Ive always been a breakfast skipper but this gives you fruit, and protein and steadies my blood sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States