Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The dressing for this coleslaw is the best! It provides the perfect amount of tartness--something I could never achieve using pickle juice. I made the slaw using green cabbage and only one apple and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was really a hit with my family. Gave the recipe to my Mother and she uses it often for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
We are'nt big fans of slaws; but we LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
yummy and such a pretty color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Made this recipe several times and keeps coming up a winner. To keep it new with old guests, I added a tablespoon of fresh ground ginger. Surprisingly, nobody could name the taste, but loved the enhanced flavor. We will keep making this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This cole slaw was delicious! It's surprisingly not as fruity as I thought it would be, with 2 apples in it. Served it with ham. I made it exactly according to the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
The dressing is wonderful and the fuji apples add a nice zing. It was great even with green cabbage, which is what I had in the house at the time...my mom raved about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavysyrup
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Amazing. Not even a coleslaw fan, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavysyrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Excellent recipe. Made it for a New Years Eve party and had rave reviews. Like others have said, this slaw was enjoyed by cole slaw fans in addition to those who don't normally like slaw. I made this exactly by the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. There is definitely more prep time than a jar of Marzetti's and a bag of cabbage but it's well worth the time and effort for something different and very tasty that will probably become one of your favorite way to make slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We thought this was really good, and we're not huge coleslaw fans (I only made it because I had cabbage to use up and didn't know what else to make!) :) I did add extra apple (1/2 of a green one, personal preference) and a little more cabbage just based on how thick the dressing appeared. One thing to note-maybe this is obvious, but we ate it a few hours after it had been prepared, and the flavors hadn't blended quite as well as I would have liked yet. We both thought that it was much better today! (a day later) I may put a little less mayo in next time, but that's just personal preference. I also used plain green cabbage, and it tasted wonderful as well. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States