Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Yummy! Followed the recipe exactly. Would not change a thing. Second helpings and many compliments from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this around noon today, and by the time we had it with dinner about 7 hours later, the flavors had melded quite nicely. I'm sure the leftovers will be even better tomorrow. The only thing I changed was to add a little more onion, as that's how we like it. Thanks, Starflower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We thought this was really good, and we're not huge coleslaw fans (I only made it because I had cabbage to use up and didn't know what else to make!) :) I did add extra apple (1/2 of a green one, personal preference) and a little more cabbage just based on how thick the dressing appeared. One thing to note-maybe this is obvious, but we ate it a few hours after it had been prepared, and the flavors hadn't blended quite as well as I would have liked yet. We both thought that it was much better today! (a day later) I may put a little less mayo in next time, but that's just personal preference. I also used plain green cabbage, and it tasted wonderful as well. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This had really good flavor. Made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Excellent recipe. Made it for a New Years Eve party and had rave reviews. Like others have said, this slaw was enjoyed by cole slaw fans in addition to those who don't normally like slaw. I made this exactly by the recipe and wouldn't change a thing. There is definitely more prep time than a jar of Marzetti's and a bag of cabbage but it's well worth the time and effort for something different and very tasty that will probably become one of your favorite way to make slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heavysyrup
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Amazing. Not even a coleslaw fan, and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavysyrup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was very good. Everyone enjoyed the taste, and liked it much better than the typical coleslaw. I also thought it was pretty, which was a plus. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
We are'nt big fans of slaws; but we LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Clayton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
The dressing for this coleslaw is the best! It provides the perfect amount of tartness--something I could never achieve using pickle juice. I made the slaw using green cabbage and only one apple and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was really a hit with my family. Gave the recipe to my Mother and she uses it often for family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States