Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Beyond good. Use recipe as written and everyone loved it! I made it for a purple and orange (PHX Suns) potluck. Everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was delicious - I'm not a coleslaw fan, but I really liked this. I brought it to a function and it was the only thing gone. I'll be making this again soon (to use up the red cabbage!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Good but I had to make alot of adjustments. I used half cup mayo and half cup plain yogurt. I used a whole head of cabbage and added 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this the other night with a beautiful head of organic cabbage, a couple of organic braeburn apples, and a sweet organic florida onion. I sustituted 2 Tablespoons cider vinegar for the milk and used slightly less light mayo. Nothing gets finely diced or minced in my house so their were nice chunks of apple and sweet onion to compliment the cabbage, which I sliced instead of shredded (because I like long cole slaw). It was fabulous and I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Love this recipe, and I am not the biggest coleslaw fan, in fact I never eat coleslaw unless I make it myself. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i have made this slaw over the last 2 years for every BBQ & it's always a huge hit. The only thing I add is a few handfuls of golden raisins (my hubby says is a necessity to any cole slaw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is one of those recipes you will make over and over again for bbqs, potlucks, Wednesday night dinner. I sometimes will make mine with a high ratio of yogurt to mayo just to add bite to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlchow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great decorate color, but very bland. I have always added apples to slaw, but left the peeling on for extra nutritional value. I use a blender or food processor, which makes it easier to prepare. I added vinegar (about 1/4 cup) and additional sugar (about 1/2 cup). Tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My fiance hates coleslaw and any mayonnaise based salads... and he ate every last bite. I used 3 small pink lady apples and sweet onion - it was, as someone else mentioned, not as sweet as you would expect (which was a good thing!). It was such a unique and amazing flavor plus a great decorative color. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 plain yogurt and added a dash each of nutmeg and cinnamon. Very unique flavor and goes with so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States