Purple Apple Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this the other night with a beautiful head of organic cabbage, a couple of organic braeburn apples, and a sweet organic florida onion. I sustituted 2 Tablespoons cider vinegar for the milk and used slightly less light mayo. Nothing gets finely diced or minced in my house so their were nice chunks of apple and sweet onion to compliment the cabbage, which I sliced instead of shredded (because I like long cole slaw). It was fabulous and I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Love this recipe, and I am not the biggest coleslaw fan, in fact I never eat coleslaw unless I make it myself. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
i have made this slaw over the last 2 years for every BBQ & it's always a huge hit. The only thing I add is a few handfuls of golden raisins (my hubby says is a necessity to any cole slaw).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is one of those recipes you will make over and over again for bbqs, potlucks, Wednesday night dinner. I sometimes will make mine with a high ratio of yogurt to mayo just to add bite to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlchow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Great decorate color, but very bland. I have always added apples to slaw, but left the peeling on for extra nutritional value. I use a blender or food processor, which makes it easier to prepare. I added vinegar (about 1/4 cup) and additional sugar (about 1/2 cup). Tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
My fiance hates coleslaw and any mayonnaise based salads... and he ate every last bite. I used 3 small pink lady apples and sweet onion - it was, as someone else mentioned, not as sweet as you would expect (which was a good thing!). It was such a unique and amazing flavor plus a great decorative color. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 plain yogurt and added a dash each of nutmeg and cinnamon. Very unique flavor and goes with so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I chose to make this for a dish to pass for a church dinner - and everyone loved it, including a fussy husband! The onions were omitted, with carrots substituted instead. The other substitution was 1/2 cup plain yogurt for the mayo, as the other reviewers suggested. My husband says 5/5. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I've made this twice. Didn't last long either time. I grated the apples instead of dicing. Great way to use the recently harvested red cabbage from my garden and freshly picked apples. Might add some grated carrots and celery next time for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I just whipped this up and am very excited to take it to a get together this evening. Such a simple recipe, has such a great taste. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaala Cooney Leggette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States