Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. It turned out just how I imagined it would be (just like the candy I had in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe....I just didn't use all that great maple syrup(motor oil) because I didn't want to use good maple syrup and it not work..but I could tell that it's a good recipe just make sure once it turns a lighter colour to put it right in the pan or mold because it'll get hard and not the melt in your mouth maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
By far the easiest and most accurate description of how to make maple sugar candy. This is the soft candy style, not the rockhard style. Follow the directions to the letter and you'll get this right. If the syrup starts to bubble over the pot, add a drop or two of vegetable oil. I made this without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and it works well. For those who are having trouble, I suspect (but don't know) you have never, or rarely, made candy or fudge. It takes practice. The person who ended up with bricks crumbling over-boiled the syrup. The person who ended up having to use a mixer under-boiled it. The latter is easily corrected by putting the syrup back on the stove for probably another minute. The first thing I'd check is the thermometer, if you were using one. It may be off -- try it in boiling water, as that is something which is consistent in temperature. If it is off there, then it is off for everything else. If you are not using a thermometer (it is not needed) the timing and mixing will come with practice. Try making fudge first -- it is a bit more forgiving. Also, try leaving out the nuts the first couple of times. This will allow you to learn the proper consistency of the mix for moulding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome recipe. So easy!! My Dad used to make his own in upstate NY and he Loved this, was impressed!! I used little snowflake molds and no nuts, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Fritz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yummy. Be ready at step 3...as soon as it changes color add the walnuts and pour into molds. Do not hesitate or you will have maple sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for Maple Candy (which is my favorite!) Be advised though! It takes practice to determine the correct time to pour off. This is my third batch and I am still getting the hang of it. The candy turns out perfect for me, but my goal is for it to taste great and look beautiful. I am still working on beautiful... my first few candies look great but they get a little lumpy as the sugar starts to harden. I recommend making small batches in a small pot until you get the hang of it. Thanks so much for the recipe! Where I live I pay as much for a small box of this candy as I do for a large 32 ounce jar of syrup, and 32 ounces makes a lot of candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These are great!! Just be sure to pour the candy into your molds (or mini muffin cups, which is what I used) before it cools down too much. It will be sooner than you think. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crumbled mess in your saucepan, and it won't be nearly as pretty -- though still just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I wish i could rate this more that 5 stars, It was the easiest candy i have ever made. It came out just perfect, and tastes just like the maple candy i used to have at christmas as a kid. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaycee1076

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. It came out perfect using my candy thermometer. Living in the south now I am happy to have the famous New England treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States