Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This is an excellent recipe, and it works well. For those who are having trouble, I suspect (but don't know) you have never, or rarely, made candy or fudge. It takes practice. The person who ended up with bricks crumbling over-boiled the syrup. The person who ended up having to use a mixer under-boiled it. The latter is easily corrected by putting the syrup back on the stove for probably another minute. The first thing I'd check is the thermometer, if you were using one. It may be off -- try it in boiling water, as that is something which is consistent in temperature. If it is off there, then it is off for everything else. If you are not using a thermometer (it is not needed) the timing and mixing will come with practice. Try making fudge first -- it is a bit more forgiving. Also, try leaving out the nuts the first couple of times. This will allow you to learn the proper consistency of the mix for moulding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is the best recipe I have found for Maple Candy (which is my favorite!) Be advised though! It takes practice to determine the correct time to pour off. This is my third batch and I am still getting the hang of it. The candy turns out perfect for me, but my goal is for it to taste great and look beautiful. I am still working on beautiful... my first few candies look great but they get a little lumpy as the sugar starts to harden. I recommend making small batches in a small pot until you get the hang of it. Thanks so much for the recipe! Where I live I pay as much for a small box of this candy as I do for a large 32 ounce jar of syrup, and 32 ounces makes a lot of candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These are great!! Just be sure to pour the candy into your molds (or mini muffin cups, which is what I used) before it cools down too much. It will be sooner than you think. Otherwise, you'll end up with a crumbled mess in your saucepan, and it won't be nearly as pretty -- though still just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
By far the easiest and most accurate description of how to make maple sugar candy. This is the soft candy style, not the rockhard style. Follow the directions to the letter and you'll get this right. If the syrup starts to bubble over the pot, add a drop or two of vegetable oil. I made this without nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is a good recipe....I just didn't use all that great maple syrup(motor oil) because I didn't want to use good maple syrup and it not work..but I could tell that it's a good recipe just make sure once it turns a lighter colour to put it right in the pan or mold because it'll get hard and not the melt in your mouth maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. It came out perfect using my candy thermometer. Living in the south now I am happy to have the famous New England treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Yummy. Be ready at step 3...as soon as it changes color add the walnuts and pour into molds. Do not hesitate or you will have maple sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe. It turned out just how I imagined it would be (just like the candy I had in Vermont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I was so disappointed in this recipe :(. I made it while my sister was visiting and we were very excited and hoping for the taste of melt-in-the-mouth maple candy that we've purchased before. I even bought myself a new candy thermometer just in case. However, the candy is staying soft and creamy, will not come out of the molds, even after chilling in the freezer ...and it cooked forever so if anything it should be too hard, so I have no idea what happened. As for the transformation from syrup to light & creamy, that didn't happen either so we had to use a mixer ...and it took about 10 minutes for it to become light and creamy, looked awesome...but the consistency is like a very undercooked fudge so I suspect the 235 is not high enough of a temp to get moldable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I give this 3 stars because the directions were off, not because of taste. The taste was very good, how can you go wrong with pure maple syrup? Here is what happened. I used just 1 1/2 cups of syrup because that was all I had, but it took no where near 5 minutes of stirring to change color and get creamy, more like 30 seconds. I kept stirring, thinking it this couldn't be the creamy consistenecy the recipe was talking about, since it was no where near 5 minutes. Dopey me, I was left with stiff, unmanageable maple sugar. No way it was going in a mold, I put it in a small rectangular dish hoping to cut it into little cubes to serve. But, when I went to cut it, the whole thing crumbled. Now it is a mess of crumbled maple sugar, although it is very tasty. Much of this was my error, I realize, but beware of the stirring time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States