Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
So sweet, very sweet. Yummy and easy. Just follow directions exactly. I was only willing to risk 1 cup of syrup just in case in did something foolish. So very easy. No problems. I would agree that step 3 does not take 5 minutes, so be ready to pour when color starts to change. I do not have candy molds, so I simply poured candy into a square baking dish and cut into pieces when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These were great! Having read all the reviews, I expected the times to vary widely from the instructions, but I found the times were just about right for me. The candy is yummy! Made a dozen trees from the Wilton silicone tree mold (filled about 3/4 of the way). It is very soft, but holds its shape (so far at least). Interested to see how it holds up after a few days. Note: it did take a while to get to 235 F, and it was tricky finding a balance with the heat, making it hot enough for the temperature to (slowly) rise, but not so hot it boiled over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was the first time I made maple candy and it came out with the same taste and texture as the candy you can buy here in New England! I only used 1cup of maple syrup. I boiled it until it hit exactly 235 degrees and then let it cool until 175 degrees. I only stirred the syrup for about two minutes though; as soon as it turned lighter and looked more creamy I poured it into molds. I poured it right into silicone brownie bite molds and they came out perfectly clean. I'll be trying it again with some holiday molds I have for gifts this year! Very easy and came out great! You just shouldnt have to stir for five minutes and it definitely doesn't take ten minutes to cool down to 175 degrees, so check the temperature frequently and like other people said, don't walk away from the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made this a few different times due to the lack of details, or correct information. My syrup cooled a lot quicker than 10 min and when stirring it; it only took 2, 3 min tops to achieve the change of colour. The first time I made this I stirred it too much and it all went to maple sugar before I could even get it into the molds. It changes quick so beware. But like most candy once you get use to your cooking temps and times it goes a lot more smoothly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious!!!! I couldn't get it into the molds fast enough though...so it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Deelish. Followed everyone's warnings and came out perfect. Did not add nuts (yuck).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
We used grade B syrup and so ended up with a darker, more richly flavored candy. Two cups of syrup yielded 13 ozs of candy plus some stuck to the pan that we scraped out and ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I made this recipe twice now, and I have never made any other type of candy. I'm not sure how I managed to find my grandmother's candy thermometer in my drawer. It is extremely difficult to get the temperature accurately. I used a smaller pot the 2nd time, so that the liquid would be deep enough for an accurate measurement. But, the bubbles were so sticky, they rose up 3" and threatened to boil over even @ medium heat. With a bigger pot, the depth of the syrup/sugar was so shallow the candy thermometer wasn't really deep enough. So, the first time, it was barely solid at room temperature, and the second time, it was solid before I had a chance to pour it (I reheated it and added a touch of water to melt it again). I agree with another poster that the 5 minutes to stir it is far too long. You might consider stirring it over low heat after it reaches 175F to keep it pourable. Of course, the taste is exceptional. It's just maple sugar, straight from my back yard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The directions are slightly misleading. It took me four tries, but on that fourth try, oh man, the resulting candy was delicious. So here are my suggestions from a first time candy maker: 1. Make sure the candy thermometer isn't touching the bottom of the pot. 2. It doesn't take nearly 10 minutes for the syrup to cool from 235 to 175 so don't walk away 3. After it cools to 175, stir until the mixture becomes cloudy. For me it didn't turn a lighter color until I poured it into the molds but it did become cloudy and I noticed sugar crystals starting to form on the bottom of the pot. I tried with darker and amber syrup and had much better luck with the amber syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome.... just follow the directions exactly. Get in molds quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinteacher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States