Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Wow! It worked! Even though I think I messed up, it turned out delicious! Now (as other reviewers have said) I have to try to perfect the pretty part! I think following the directions correctly will help! :) thanks so much for this recipe - even taking into account the messed up batches, its still cheaper to make it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! This was the only recipe that had such clear instructions and one ingredient. Beware though, it cools down quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely perfect recipe! I used a digital thermometer - the same one we use for making syrup and this turned out perfect. After putting in 2 cups, realized I had too large of a pan - so I put in 2 more. Took longer to reach 235, but seemed easier to manage when stirring (based on reviews). My husband has a major sweet tooth- yet he commented that this is really sweeet even for him! Sweet and creamy, just the way maple candy should be! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Easy, Delicious and clear directions. For the novice like me, DO NOT ATTEMPT without a candy thermometer. AND, careful- it cools quick at the end- so, in final steps when stirring boiled candy quickly- watch carefully for change and then quick poor into molds. Color didn't signify candy's readiness for molds as much as consistency. Just watch carefully, because the window is narrow from pretty candy to flaky (if tasty) dust bits. We made this for son's state project where all students needed to provide a snack from their studied state. Maple Candy was the perfect taste of Vermont. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
SUPER EASY....AND VERY SMOOTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Maple candy is delicious, but part of what makes it so festive is the kind of mold. I haven't made a bunch of candy and didn't realize that the best mold would be small and rubber--this candy is too soft to unmold easily from rigid candy molds. Here's some trouble-shooting that worked for me: I live at high altitude, so I had to reduce the temperature to make it turn out ok (I found the boiling temp of water in my kitchen using a candy thermometer. I subtracted the difference between that temp and 212 F and subtracted the same from the suggested temperature). Before doing the adjustment, I overheated my candy ended up with sugar, so I added water to the sugar make a simple syrup in 2 sugar:1 water ratio and re-heated the syrup to candy temps and went through the recipe again. It worked. I also found the candy set up before I could get it all molded, so I reheated it gently, just until it was pourable again and molded it--it worked. Overall: fun chemistry product that resulted in yummy candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is an easy way to make an all-time favorite. It does take a little bit of practice to get the timing just right. The first few times, I continued stirring until it looked like the familiar cream color of the candies. Now, I do as the directions actually say and stop when it "begins" to become lighter, thicker, and creamier. I don't bother with the candy molds and instead just pour it onto parchment paper, place another layer of parchment on top, press it flat, let it cool, and break it into smaller pieces. It's not as pretty, but much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this without nuts and it was awesome! It only took about 2 minutes of whipping with a wooden spoon any longer and it wasn't manageable and cooled to much before it was completely in the candy mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
YUM! I cannot believe that we did it! My sisters and I decided to give this a try with 1/2 cup of maple syrup because we have never made any candy. We used a 1q pot and stirred occasionally until the thermometer read 235f. As soon as the temp hit 175f we stirred quickly and as soon as the color started to look creamy we started pouring it into a small glass dish covered in parchment paper b/c we were worried that we wouldn't be able to get it out of molds after some of the reviews. Apparently we waited too long b/c we ended up with a delicious lump of maple sugar candy which we ate quickly. 2nd time we used about 1 1/2 cups and it took 2 tries (we had to move to a larger pot b/c it was boiling over the little one) to hit the right temp boiling and then we poured it onto parchment paper lying on the table - it poured out better this time and spread itself into a pancake before hardening. The one we tried in a mini muffin cup came out just fine once totally cooled. Can't wait to continue to perfect and beautify this special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States