Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This recipe made the kitchen smell so good when it was cooking! I think that I over cooked it though because after around 2 minutes of cooling it turned into a brown sugar consistancy. I will definitaly try it agaion thoug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This came out perfect; pure melt in your mouth maple heaven! Be sure to use a thermometer. I am an experienced candy maker, but at the price of maple syrup, I didn't want to take any chances on it not coming out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Absolutely the best maple candy recipe! Follow the directions; temperature, beat it and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly, and the maple sugared. Add to this that it doesn't say to spray the mold so that the candy comes out, and since I didn't do that, the candies stuck in the molds. I had a pure maple disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaHawley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
So sweet, very sweet. Yummy and easy. Just follow directions exactly. I was only willing to risk 1 cup of syrup just in case in did something foolish. So very easy. No problems. I would agree that step 3 does not take 5 minutes, so be ready to pour when color starts to change. I do not have candy molds, so I simply poured candy into a square baking dish and cut into pieces when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
These were great! Having read all the reviews, I expected the times to vary widely from the instructions, but I found the times were just about right for me. The candy is yummy! Made a dozen trees from the Wilton silicone tree mold (filled about 3/4 of the way). It is very soft, but holds its shape (so far at least). Interested to see how it holds up after a few days. Note: it did take a while to get to 235 F, and it was tricky finding a balance with the heat, making it hot enough for the temperature to (slowly) rise, but not so hot it boiled over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was the first time I made maple candy and it came out with the same taste and texture as the candy you can buy here in New England! I only used 1cup of maple syrup. I boiled it until it hit exactly 235 degrees and then let it cool until 175 degrees. I only stirred the syrup for about two minutes though; as soon as it turned lighter and looked more creamy I poured it into molds. I poured it right into silicone brownie bite molds and they came out perfectly clean. I'll be trying it again with some holiday molds I have for gifts this year! Very easy and came out great! You just shouldnt have to stir for five minutes and it definitely doesn't take ten minutes to cool down to 175 degrees, so check the temperature frequently and like other people said, don't walk away from the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made this a few different times due to the lack of details, or correct information. My syrup cooled a lot quicker than 10 min and when stirring it; it only took 2, 3 min tops to achieve the change of colour. The first time I made this I stirred it too much and it all went to maple sugar before I could even get it into the molds. It changes quick so beware. But like most candy once you get use to your cooking temps and times it goes a lot more smoothly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious!!!! I couldn't get it into the molds fast enough though...so it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Deelish. Followed everyone's warnings and came out perfect. Did not add nuts (yuck).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States