Pure Maple Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
DO NOT ADD OIL to prevent bubbling! It will affect the taste! The first batch I made was with 1 1/2 cups of Grade A Dark Amber syrup in a 2qt pot, and the syrup did not bubble over (it came close) so I did not need to add any oil. The maple sugar was so good! The second batch I just made was with 2 cups of syrup, and it started to bubble over so I added 2 drops of oil. That did nothing, and the syrup bubbled up and over the side of the 2qt pot. I added some more oil, which then seemed to help with the bubbling, but once you get past a certain temp the oil seems to stop bubbling up anyway. Well, the oil ruined the second batch. It tastes so off, I don't think I can even eat it. What a waste. Do yourself a favor and get a big enough pot to accommodate the bubbling without adding oil!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Important information after several attempts: 1) All maple sugar is not created equal. I believe this recipe calls for Grade A maple syrup - the kind you can buy at Target @ 8:00 in the morning in desperation because you have no plan b for the birthday party in 3 hours and you still haven't showered and you have an hour drive to get to said party. ) Grade B - the fancy and expensive kind you'd buy at a health food store - doesn't cream as well and turns to concrete VERY QUICKLY. Trust me. I tested the theory several times until the wee hours of the morning. 2) pay attention to the mixture as you are stirring. As soon as you notice that it's possible that it seems that it might have lightened in color and gotten creamy, STOP STIRRING and pour it into the molds. The mixture will cool and start to solidify VERY QUICKLY. 3) it feels like it takes forever to reach the softball stage (235° F) but everything after that happens VERY QUICKLY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Oh my goodness it worked! I need to work on my presentation and get silicone molds instead of these old school plastic ones, but it is still delicious! I followed the directions, used a digital thermometer. Think I needed to pour a few seconds before I did. But for a first attempt at candy making.... Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KraklinRose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I love this recipe! But as others have stated, making maple sugar candy isn't the best recipe to try until you have some experience making candy. But if you do choose to go ahead be prepared! Google maple sugar candy to get some very good tips for how to (and if you can) salvage your end result if it's maple butter or maple sugar you end up with instead. Remember to take into consideration your altitude. Water does boil at different temperatures because of that. The best idea is to test your thermometer with boiling water and adjust your recipe accordingly. I did with mine and all my batches turned out fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Nix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Munderwho
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Success on round two! Don't give up if you've flopped the first time. Watch a few videos on candy making, read some websites dedicated to the art and then come back and try again. It's worth the effort. Thank you for this simple but elegant edition to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This actually worked out for me almost exactly to the directions listed! After reading the reviews, I was concerned it wouldn't. I did use a tip from another comment. Once the syrup was cloudy & smooth, it quickly set up in the pot-I added a small amount (probably about a teaspoon) of water and added it back to low heat and brought it back to a liquid. I left it on the low heat while I poured the liquid into the silicone molds. The candies came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Delicious!! I love maple syrup, so this was amazing! The first time I made it, I didn't have a candy thermometer. Instead, I had a cup of cool water next to the boiling syrup. Every few minutes while it is boiling, spoon a drop of syrup into the cold water, and if it stays together in a drop, feel it. If it feels a bit like gel, then the syrup is at the right temperature. Again, since I didn't have a thermometer, I just waited 10 minutes before I stirred it. When you get to the third step, it definitely does not take 5 minutes of stirring! It took me about a minute or two. But it is better to pour it into the molds sooner rather than later, because if you wait too long, it hardens in the pot and turns into sugar instead of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect first try!Used grade B added a little bit of butter at start.I may never make fudge again.KEEP the heat medium.#5 on my stove,bubbled up only about double in size to reach 235.Then about 10 minutes to cool to 175.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yyourchoice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Great recipe. Those who used less than the 2 cups, that's why you had less stirring. Less volume=faster heating and faster cooling. Make sure to have a VERY large pan doing this, maple expands 4-7 times its size very rapidly at about 228 F, so for 2 cups a 2 quart saucepan may not quite cut it. I use a 3 qt saucepan and have about a half inch to spare using a 2 cup recipe. For a bit creamier end product allow the syrup to cool to 110-120 before you do the stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was wonderful recipe! My husband and father are both maple candy junkies and I'm so happy to have found an easy make-it-yourself version! Thank you and I will be coming back to this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States