Pupusas de Queso (Cheese-Stuffed Tortillas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This gave me a good idea about what to do with the large amount of masa harina and queso fresco I happen to have. I found the proportion of flour and water off, and it is completely different from the instructions on the masa harina's package. On the package it's recommended mixing 1 cup of masa harina with 1.5 cup of water. I followed that after finding out 1 cup of water is way not adequate for 2 cups of flour. Regarding the techniques, I am used to making similar items in my native cuisine using the traditional method so I didn't follow the recipe at all. Instead I formed a ball of dough in my palm, made a large indentation in the middle by cupping my hand. I then added cheese in the indentation and pinched the edges together to close the cheese in and form a ball. I flattened the ball into more or less a disk before putting it on the skillet. I cooked mine for much longer than 2 minutes per side because I wasn't sure if it was done. But the results are very good nevertheless. For whatever reason I find these pupusas very mild yet surprisingly comforting. That's interesting since I didn't grow up eating it. I like to pop a leftover piece in the microwave to heat it slightly and snack on it. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I wish I had a tortilla press because these pupusas took a lot of time to make. I added salt to the dough and refried beans to the filling. Instead of using two pieces of tortilla, I only used one. I also cooked half of them in a little bit of oil because the first half were coming out too dry. I served it with homemade curtido on the side because I can't eat pupusas without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
My husband is El Salvadoran the first half of his life so I am not. I wanted to make something near and dear to his heart and this worked. Thank you so much. BTW, I used fresh mozzarella and he said it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josioradio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I tried a mixture of traditional vs. easy and what I did was use a tortilla maker. After making the ball I would put it in the mold and then fill it up with the cheese. Fold it over and make another ball and then put it back in the mold. Some of the filling can come out but it definitely looks really nice this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'm not sure about the proportions of masa to water. I added more water and they were still too dry so I dumped leftover cheese on top. Probably just takes making this a few times to get the right feel of the dough, more by feel, less by measure. Kids liked it and I look forward to"making it mine". Used black beans and jack for the trial run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Last year my friend for El Salvador made these for us on Thanksgiving while we cooked the actual dinner. It was supposed to be a light snack to keep us going until dinner was ready. Well... we ended up eating so many of these that we really didn't "tackle" Thanksgiving dinner full force like we usually do. She did use the two-tortilla method described in this recipe so...I guess it is also an authentic way of preparing them. Maybe she is from the side of the country that makes them this way...who knows. However, I do think that the single tortilla method described by our fellow reviewers must yield a better, less doughy result. My friend used beans along with the cheese as filling. The beans were kind of like a homemade refried beans. She prepared curtido to go with them (served on the side) and also a very plain and bland tomato sauce (she just pureed a couple of roma tomatoes). The sauce by itself was nothing but it worked very well together because of the strong flavor of the curtido. It helped mellow out the vinegary taste of the curtido. Pupusas are not my favorite thing in the world, they are just Ok for me (no matter who makes them, and I've had plenty). However, when compared to others I've had, these are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
It is also traditional to use harina de arroz (rice flour) to make your dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Added salt to the masa as well as some oil(next time I'm thinking manteca de puerco instead). The first few came out pretty dry(why we added the oil). Used queso cotija as one of the fillings, & another mixture of beans and chicharrones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The ingredients for the recipe are authentic but the method is not. You'll get the same results but if you can master the authentic way of prepare them, you'll be able to make them much faster. You can take a golf ball sized piece of the dough, roll into a ball before patting back and forth between your hands. (Using a dusting of Maseca on your hands or a little water alternately to keep it from sticking to your palms or from becoming too dry.) Once you have a round disc about the size of your hand, place a good sized pinch of the cheese in the middle. Bring the edges of the dough up around it and pinch to seal. Now you will have a dough ball with cheese in the middle. Now repeat the process of clapping it back and forth between your palms to flatten into a (now slightly fatter) disc once more - and then it's ready to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
539 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Decent basic recipe. We added jalapenos to about half of the ones we made....pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chevellechick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States