Pupusas de Queso (Cheese-Stuffed Tortillas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I have never had these, but wanted to use up some of the masa harina I had. The family loved them. I would give 5 stars, but I found there wasn't enough water to form a dough. I had to add almost another cup of water to be able to work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
love this with the "curtido". I like to just buy "mexican crumbling cheese" and just slice it and put it between the "harina dough" and pan fry with a couple tbs olive oil and 1 tbs of real unsalted butter..yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deniseoyola1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars because the water to masa is a bit off, however it's a great recipe with alterations. When making this I add as much water as needed to keep the masa from crumbling. I also use the technique that another person suggested by making the dough into the size of a golf ball and then pat it between my hands add my cheese, round it again around my cheese then pat it out. I also use a bit of water on my hands when patting it out to keep it more formed and from crumbling, it's very helpful. I fry mine in a bit of oil, they are so delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
So, I don't think I did it right, maybe didn't use enough cheese or something.... My first attempt after allowing the dough to rest yielded something that could not be rolled at all, and quickly fell apart, so I added water till the recipe was workable. Then, I spread a layer of cheese on the bottom half, then rolled another to put on top...my result was a lot of masa flavor that really just made me think I was eating like a cornmeal porridge or hard tack. I might be a cow boy, but come on. And based on other reviews, it sounds like it's actually pretty good, I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This turned out too dry and bland for me. Next time I i will try making with a little more water, maybe add salt, cilantro, jalapeno for a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The ratio of masa to water is wrong here. It will result in dry, cakey, cracking pupusas. You will require enough water to make a soft, play-dough like dough, easy to shape. For me, the ratio was one cup water to one cup masa, plus a little salt. Also, we use chopped green peppers and goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used this recipe as a basis for my pupusas. I found I needed more water than the 1 cup required. I added about 1/3 cup more. I ended up filling my pupusas with black beans and queso fresca. They were really good. Something I would like to try again. I think it would make a great breakfast food w/ an egg on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I love love love Pupusas!! Recipe is great and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I had a bit of difficulty getting the masa harina/water ratio correct. High altitude + dry climate = crumbly dough. These took longer to cook and turned out a little tough. I served them with the Calabacitas con Elote recipe from this site, and that saved the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I love making papusas! I made the cheese papusas with queso blanco and lorocco(found at a latin supermarket) and the others I filled with chicharrones(fried pork belly) blended with a little tomato sauce, my husband devoured these and he's Salvadoran!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csantare

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States