Pupu Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I made this dish to serve at a candle party I was having. It was very good. One of my guests asked if she could take a bowl of meat balls home!! I would only suggest that you make sure you get your meat balls good and brown, even to the point of being crusty on the outside, because when they marinate and then cook they will get soft. Some of mine began falling apart as I stired while cooking, I think because they were not browned long enough. I also cut the amount of whiskey in half ~ I've never tried it with the full amount of whiskey, so I'm not saying that the full amount is bad. The recipe suggests cooking for at least a half hour, but I suggest you cook them much longer than that. At the 30 minute point we didn't like them at all, and my husband and I considered throwing them out, but after they cooked for a couple of hours they really became quite good. I will certainly make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This appetizer is so yummy. Make plenty because they disappear so quickly. When serving them, if you put small pieces of French bread in a dish next to them, your guests will also enjoy dipping the bread in the delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
We had a hawaiian food thing at work so I made these. Took them to work and crock potted them all morning,,lol@whiskey in the air at the office :) Anyway, when done, people loved the recipe and a lot of people asked me for it. I will make these many times for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
had an adult party, everyone loved them. Made egg noodles and mushroom sauce with the left overs and they were fantastic. I bought the premade meatballs and put them in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I used frozen meatballs and these were great, so easy!! I cooked them in the crock pot on low for 7 hours, and they were perfect. I did use low sodium soy sauce, I think that really helped with the saltiness everyone else was commenting on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very good, they definately need to sit in the sauce for a while though. I'm going to make them a day in advance this time and that should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was pretty good. I had problems keeping all the onion in the meatballs, though. I also made them a little bigger and we had it as a main course, not appetizer. All in all it was okay. I might make it again if DH's not home - I forgot the only way he likes his meatballs is in sauce on top of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Great recipe! I had these last weekend at my niece's birthday party (Hawaiian Luau). A little too salty, but delicious!! I am making these tomorrow and can't wait, lot's of people are looking forward to trying them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The aroma and flavor of the meatballs is great, but it was way too salty for both myself and my wife. I think next time I will cut the soy sauce by 3/4, and substitute some Worcestershire sauce and a bit more water to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I thought the plain meatballs were good. I cooked them on med. heat and they held their shape pretty well. But the sauce stuff was too salty for me, and I even used lite soy sauce. I think they would be good over plain rice or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States