Pupu Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I made this dish to serve at a candle party I was having. It was very good. One of my guests asked if she could take a bowl of meat balls home!! I would only suggest that you make sure you get your meat balls good and brown, even to the point of being crusty on the outside, because when they marinate and then cook they will get soft. Some of mine began falling apart as I stired while cooking, I think because they were not browned long enough. I also cut the amount of whiskey in half ~ I've never tried it with the full amount of whiskey, so I'm not saying that the full amount is bad. The recipe suggests cooking for at least a half hour, but I suggest you cook them much longer than that. At the 30 minute point we didn't like them at all, and my husband and I considered throwing them out, but after they cooked for a couple of hours they really became quite good. I will certainly make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I haven't served the finished product yet but I have comments about the recipe itself. First, one small onion is too much. 1/2 of a very small onion would work better. Second, double the marinade or it won't even cover the balls as you marinate them. Third, medium heat is too high. Cook on low or you'll burn them. Finally, you might want to add some oil to the pan before you begin frying. It will prevent the balls from falling apart when you need to turn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This appetizer is so yummy. Make plenty because they disappear so quickly. When serving them, if you put small pieces of French bread in a dish next to them, your guests will also enjoy dipping the bread in the delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
good - just make sure to use lo sodium soy sauce.....very salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
We had a hawaiian food thing at work so I made these. Took them to work and crock potted them all morning,,lol@whiskey in the air at the office :) Anyway, when done, people loved the recipe and a lot of people asked me for it. I will make these many times for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I used frozen meatballs and these were great, so easy!! I cooked them in the crock pot on low for 7 hours, and they were perfect. I did use low sodium soy sauce, I think that really helped with the saltiness everyone else was commenting on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The other reviewers were right. There is too much onion, & the balls won't stick together. Maybe adding an egg to the mixture would help it stick. Cook lower than medium or they fall apart. I added about a tsp of sugar to cut the salt, & served over unseasoned rice to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
OK but not what we were hoping. Basically it's just meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
The aroma and flavor of the meatballs is great, but it was way too salty for both myself and my wife. I think next time I will cut the soy sauce by 3/4, and substitute some Worcestershire sauce and a bit more water to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I hate to give a bad reveiw, but I followed this recipe exactly, and the meatballs did not turn out well. They fell apart when marinating (I think it's because there was too much onion) and the taste was VERY salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States