Pupu Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This was pretty good. I had problems keeping all the onion in the meatballs, though. I also made them a little bigger and we had it as a main course, not appetizer. All in all it was okay. I might make it again if DH's not home - I forgot the only way he likes his meatballs is in sauce on top of spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Very good, they definately need to sit in the sauce for a while though. I'm going to make them a day in advance this time and that should do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
My husband and I both found this dish to be on the salty side. Since he loves salt, I couldn't believe he said it was too salty. We spent most of the meal trying to figure out how to cut the saltiness in half. Other than that, we had no complaints and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The other reviewers were right. There is too much onion, & the balls won't stick together. Maybe adding an egg to the mixture would help it stick. Cook lower than medium or they fall apart. I added about a tsp of sugar to cut the salt, & served over unseasoned rice to compensate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I hate to give a bad reveiw, but I followed this recipe exactly, and the meatballs did not turn out well. They fell apart when marinating (I think it's because there was too much onion) and the taste was VERY salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I made this dish to serve at a candle party I was having. It was very good. One of my guests asked if she could take a bowl of meat balls home!! I would only suggest that you make sure you get your meat balls good and brown, even to the point of being crusty on the outside, because when they marinate and then cook they will get soft. Some of mine began falling apart as I stired while cooking, I think because they were not browned long enough. I also cut the amount of whiskey in half ~ I've never tried it with the full amount of whiskey, so I'm not saying that the full amount is bad. The recipe suggests cooking for at least a half hour, but I suggest you cook them much longer than that. At the 30 minute point we didn't like them at all, and my husband and I considered throwing them out, but after they cooked for a couple of hours they really became quite good. I will certainly make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I haven't served the finished product yet but I have comments about the recipe itself. First, one small onion is too much. 1/2 of a very small onion would work better. Second, double the marinade or it won't even cover the balls as you marinate them. Third, medium heat is too high. Cook on low or you'll burn them. Finally, you might want to add some oil to the pan before you begin frying. It will prevent the balls from falling apart when you need to turn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
had an adult party, everyone loved them. Made egg noodles and mushroom sauce with the left overs and they were fantastic. I bought the premade meatballs and put them in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This appetizer is so yummy. Make plenty because they disappear so quickly. When serving them, if you put small pieces of French bread in a dish next to them, your guests will also enjoy dipping the bread in the delicious sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States