Puppy Chow Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I ruined a whole box of chex, and it didn't turn out right. It needs 1/4 cup of butter and vanilla to work. Also use regular chocolate chips, not semi-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
followed a suggestion and added a little bit extra peanut butter and chocolate and a little less cereal and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe. The only thing I do different is I add 1 tsp vanilla after I melt the chocolate and it is off or out of the heat source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Hey, thanks for the recipe! This is such a fun treat so I decided to make some for our familiy's camping trip. My son has a peanut allergy, so I was going to sub Sunbutter for the PB. Well I found myself at our small town's tiny grocery store staring at the nonexistant options for PB alternatives. My only choice was a jar of $13 almond butter or $4 Nutella. I grabbed the Nutella. It made a great Puppy Chow! Very chocolately but still a hint of nutty flavor. I have a large family so used the whole 13 oz jar of nutella, almost a whole package of chocolate chips (I just reserved a handful or two of chocolate chips to throw into energy bars I'm making) and a whole box of rice chex (~13 oz). I did end up using more powdered sugar too since I wanted each piece thoroughly coated to keep little fingers from getting sticky as much as possible. Just wanted to add the nutella option in case anyone needs a PB alternative or would like it more chocolately! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelsey Pemberton
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I kept the amount of Rice Chex the same, but doubled the chocolate chips and the peanut butter, yielding 2cups and 1 cup respectively. I did not measure the powdered sugar, used jut enough to coat over the chocolate mixture, adding as I went if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Pemberton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Just made this with my mom.We have gotten addicted to it I absolutely love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Madness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
So i had a friend over and we got hungry she was gluten free diet so i have chex rice and i used that instead of crispy rice and turn out great i was going to let her take some but we ate it all but we did half as much as it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I lessened the amounts on it all to make a smaller portion and I also used cinnamon flavored life cereal rather than the rice crispy squares, it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is such a good snack. I love it! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Yummy puppy chow....used dark chocolate for this recipe....next time I will use a little less peanut butter because I think it overpowered the chocolate. I also used a little less powdered sugar because OMG is this sweet! I used a mix of vanilla and chocolate chex mix for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisBedz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States