Puppy Chow II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is a great base recipe, but I like to cut the peanut butter to 1/2 cup, add 1 1/4 cups of chocolate chips, and 1/2 cup of butterscotch chips, which add a little bit of something extra. I melt all of this in a large pan and then add the cereal to the pan to cut on dishes. I also add about half a bag of powdered sugar to a double-lined paper bag. I let the puppy chow sit for about 5 minutes in the fridge before adding it to the bag. Shake vigourously for a few minutes to make sure each piece is completely covered, and then just toss the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Delicious recipe! I make this for gifts at Christmas. I once made the mistake of doubling the recipe because I needed so much. If you need two batches, then definitely make separate batches. A great sweet snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
My daughter had Puppy Chow at a band party last year and loved it. She had no idea what the ingredients were. Needless to say, I was so pleased to find that All Recipes had a selection of Puppy Chow recipes to choose from. Now it's my turn to host the Band Party and I followed Stephanie's recipe. My daughter said it looks the same but isn't quite sweet enough. After reading the reviews of other Puppy Chow recipes, next time I will add less peanut butter and mix semi-sweet & milk chocolate morsels and more powdered sugar. I liked another reviewers idea adding M&Ms and pretzel pieces to the mix. Thanks,Stephanie, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Excellent starting point, thank you! I used 1/3rd corn chex, 1/3rd wheat chex, and 1/3rd mini pretzels. I also added 1/2 cup chocolate chips for total coverage. Let sit in fridge for 20 minutes or so before covering with powedered sugar (which I doubled for complete coverage). Finally, after coating, I placed on pan and put in freezer for 30 minutes before serving. This allowed for a wonderful non messy non sticky snack that my whole family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe for me and my 4 children. They loved it. It was so easy! One thing. The butter, chocolate, and butter mixture was VERY thick so after I melted it I added just a splash of milk. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This is so yummy. My sister-in-law usually makes it, so I came here to find the recipe. I added some mini pretzel twists, and I used 2 cups of choc. chips. Very addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is a fun Christmas recipe. It is easy and my friends thought it was big fun. This recipes tastes like Puppy Chow is supposed to -- if only we could come up with a more appealing name . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
So addictive and easy to make! However, being impatient, I didn't wait until the mix cooled enough for the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
My family loves this... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Peanut Butter-Pretzel Bonbons

See how to make delectable bonbons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States