Puppy Chow I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
You definitely have to wait for it to cool before covering in powdered sugar. My husband and I got in a hurry, and coated it while still warm, and it melt the powdered sugar, resulting in not white puppy chow. I used natural peanut butter, and I think it made the rice cereal too mushy. So I wouldn't recommend natural peanut butter. But it might have been that I bought cheap cereal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My husband and I like to call them "Crack Babies" because they are ADDICTIVE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Delicious snack that my brothers loved. They can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was excellent. Made the recipe with a 14 oz box of Corn Chex and thought it was the perfect coating. WARNING: The powered sugar coating was messy and you need a big paper bag to do it easily and well. I probably didn't use a whole pound of confectioners' sugar, I just played it by "sight". Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this at the preschool with my twins and their classmates and the children loved it. I also had them add some mini pretzel sticks and reese's pieces to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Brown bag makes it better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I add more powdered sugar at the end to make sure it's coated, but otherwise great recipe! And yummy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
My favorite trick for coating the cereal with the powdered sugar is to put the chocolate/PB coated cereal in a clean brown paper bag then pour in 1/2 lb. of powdered sugar. Close the bag and shake until everything is evenly coated. Add more powdered sugar if necessary. I also add pretzel sticks, peanuts, cashews, and sometimes dried fruit in place of some of the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
10 Stars! Fabulous!!! Easy! I added 1/2 cup more peanut butter. I made this for a daughter's b-day party. It was a pet theme. I didn't have a large bag, so I placed the coated cereal on a cookie sheet and sprinkled on one cup of powdered sugar at a time. Then I mixed it with my hands. (A spoon was too hard.) Messy hands, but got the job done :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Tastes just like I remember it tasting when I was a kid! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puppy Chow I

See how to make a sweet, crunch snack—for hungry humans!

Puppy Chow

Make this irresistible snack kids and grownups will love.

Spicy Pretzels

A zesty marinade takes store-bought pretzels to the next level of snack heaven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States