Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very unusual but very yummy! I used milk instead of heavy cream & reduced the butter to 2 tbs. at the end (didn't use any butter while cooking the sausage). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A great soup for a late autumn dinner or Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We have this every time we have a holiday dinner at our house. It's fantastic. Normally I make it with pumpkin, but tonight I made it with butternut squash and it's just as good. We love the combination of sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Although I did not use neither the liqueur nor the heavy cream this soup was still VERY delicious!! Thank you for a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was amazing I used Lousiana hot sasauge links the first time I made it and did use sugar pumpkins and although they were a pain to peel and cube it makes all the difference in the world, the second time I made this I used canned pumpkin and it just was not the same and way to sweet, I also subsituted ameretto in place of the praleened liquor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I'm afraid I have to go with the reviewer who described it as bland. After several tastes, I ended up examining some similar pumpkin and sausage soup recipes online, and served it with chipotle cream and cilantro, which helped bring the flavor out. However, neither my fiance or I could eat a full bowl. It would, however, be a decent small-portion side dish, perhaps served with tortilla chips or bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I absolutely adore this soup. I use canned pumpkin and then use a hand blender right in the pot to puree the sausage and onion pieces. I've served this to several guests now and everyone raves. Outstanding, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
my husband and I liked this. My kids didnt like it much...I made them eat it. I will make again just smaller amount. I used 1 lb ground Chorizo for the sausage, it was good flavor...maybe next time not so much broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yummy yummy! I'm eating it right now and it is so very delicious! I wanted it to be low fat so I used turkey kabalsca, low fat cream cheese instead of butter and used half and half in place of the heavy cream I only used 1/4 cup of the half and half. I also used the maple syrup instead of liquore and added a tiny bit of chili powder since my sausage wasn't spicy. I added tyme, pepper and a bayleaf as it was simmering. My pumpkin was fresh and I used about 4 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I also substituted some things. I used crumbled italian sausage (out of the casing)(sweet, but I bet spicy would be great too). I used Frangelica liquor, I used half and half, and I spiced it up slightly with garlic powder. Oh, only used about 3 tbsp of brown sugar. Everyone loved the flavor, and because I used puree pumkin and crumbled sausage, I didn't have to do the very messy blending the soup. Served with hearty bread- Was a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States