Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made this for a Soup Luncheon at work. My "in my pantry" changes included using canned pumpkin puree, home grown medium heat sage seasoned sausage, chicken broth, and roasted pecan syrup. My husband and I tried some immediately after it was made and it was delicious. Nice and thick after a run through the blender. Glad we had dinner already or we would have eaten up my lunch plans. The soup is now in three quart jars in the fridge and I hope the taste holds out through reheating in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyCWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME soup! I used maple, instead of the praline. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was awesome! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Just the right amount of heat, without being spicy. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this soup. It was perfect for having something a little different and the flavors blended nicely. I used 2 (15oz) cans of pumpkin puree, omitted the butter, and substituted the heavy cream with half and half. Next time I will cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Wow, I am eating this right now, and it is amazing!! This will definitely be added to my freezer recipes (see note below). I made a few substitutions because of what I had, and in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I didn't have the liquer, so I added real maple syrup. It was a little too sweet with this, so I increased the pumpkin. Next time I will probably just use a smaller amount of syrup. I used chicken andouille sausage for lower fat, and cut the cream a bit. It is such a delicious mixture of flavors. I always cook in large batches. So, like most everything I cook, I doubled the recipe, and put half in the freezer (leaving out the broth and cream). I made a note of what needs to be added, and on another day, I will pull it out, add the broth, blend it, and add the cream. Dinner will be ready with very minimal prep! Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a very rich soup. It has amazing flavor. Like many of the other reviewers I didn't have praline liquor so I used a medium amber maple syrup. Also a mild white meat chicken sausage was substituted for the spicy sausage as I am not a spicy food eater generally. The pureeing really makes this soup happen. It doesn't look appetizing before its pureed. But after the soup meets the blender and the cream joins in you have one heck of a good looking and great tasting meal on your hands. I paired it with a chenin blanc wine but a dry riesling would definitely work as well. Thank you MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very unusual but very yummy! I used milk instead of heavy cream & reduced the butter to 2 tbs. at the end (didn't use any butter while cooking the sausage). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
A great soup for a late autumn dinner or Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
We have this every time we have a holiday dinner at our house. It's fantastic. Normally I make it with pumpkin, but tonight I made it with butternut squash and it's just as good. We love the combination of sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Although I did not use neither the liqueur nor the heavy cream this soup was still VERY delicious!! Thank you for a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States