Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. The flavor may vary depending on the brand of andouille you use, but overall, it's a true crowd pleaser. Nix the expensive praline liquor and sub maple syrup for a sweet flavor and there's no need for the butter (save a few calories anyway). Everyone I've served this too absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It smells and tastes amazing! I ended up keeping it in a slow cooker for about 3 hours before I added the cream and blended it. It worked perfectly. We're making it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
i absolutely loved this soup! my husband didn't care for it AT ALL. but i love pumpkin and he doesn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Outstanding and so easy - took a couple shortcuts! I used 1.5 hot italian sausage - after browning (no butter) adding large chopped onion, thyme 3 cans pumpkin, 1 1/2 chicken broth and 1 pint 1/2 and 1/2 - whaalaaa! It was already sweet so didn't add anything else and it's perfect. Used emersion blender...Made a huge pot - enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this soup and it was an instant hit!! My local liquor store had never heard of Praline Liqueur and suggested that I use Disarrono as a substitue. It worked marvelously!!! This will be a new favorite in my Thanksgiving menu!!! The only other change was I could not find Andouille and had to substitute sage sausage which also worked well. Im making it again tonight for some friends!! Thanks for such a great use for pumpkin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband said that this was the best soup he has ever eaten. I made the sausage into more of a grounded meat thickness, not really blending it completely. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My boyfriend loved this soup. We didn't use the praline liqueur, and used spicy Italian sausage instead of andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This soup is healthy and amazing...we made it with fresh pumpkin and a spicy gourmet chicken sausage and only pureed slightly so it was still chunky...left out the cream to cut down on calories and fat. Awesome and interesting. The whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Karaban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was good, but I think next time I will add the sausage after I blend the soup. The blended sausage was a bit weird to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I don't actually eat meat, but I substituted Tofurkey Kielbasa and added some white pepper, black pepper, and cayenne pepper to replicate the flavor of Andouille. Other than that, I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States