Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a really interesting, tasty soup that is sure to be different than other pumpkin soups you've tried before--this turned out really good and would definitely be a treat to welcome the fall weather. Like other reviewers, I made a few substitutions, mostly because I wanted this to be a little lower fat than the original ingredients that were called for. I used spicy apple and chicken sausage links and then added about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper to get a bit more heat. Also, I just used the first 2 TB's of butter and didn't add any more after the soup was finished. I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream and then also added about 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream which I whisked into the warm soup to blend. For spices, I also added some salt and pepper to taste and then some fresh parsley which I pureed into the blend. Like many reviewers, I also used maple suryp in lieu of the liquer. I didn't want to use fresh pumpkin because it's inconvenient to prepare, so I used a full 29 oz can (about 3 cups or 1 1/2 lbs) of pumpkin puree instead. This soup is both spicy and a little sweet--the pumpkin makes it very full-bodied and perfect for dinner on a cold evening. Definitely puree the soup--even after pureeing it a lot, mine still turned out a little grainy and chunky (the sour cream helped smooth it out) but maybe I will try a different kind of sausage next time (like ground) to help--I don't think the sausage links blend very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Used hot Italian sausage because it's what we had and like spicy food. 1/2 the sugar, 24oz. frozen organic butternut squash, 6c. broth to ensure not too thin and this made a delightful soup that wasn't too sweet (what I was afraid of and why I started with 1/2 the sugar which was perfect for us). Thanks for the different yet delightful new addition to our recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. The flavor may vary depending on the brand of andouille you use, but overall, it's a true crowd pleaser. Nix the expensive praline liquor and sub maple syrup for a sweet flavor and there's no need for the butter (save a few calories anyway). Everyone I've served this too absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It smells and tastes amazing! I ended up keeping it in a slow cooker for about 3 hours before I added the cream and blended it. It worked perfectly. We're making it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
i absolutely loved this soup! my husband didn't care for it AT ALL. but i love pumpkin and he doesn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Outstanding and so easy - took a couple shortcuts! I used 1.5 hot italian sausage - after browning (no butter) adding large chopped onion, thyme 3 cans pumpkin, 1 1/2 chicken broth and 1 pint 1/2 and 1/2 - whaalaaa! It was already sweet so didn't add anything else and it's perfect. Used emersion blender...Made a huge pot - enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this soup and it was an instant hit!! My local liquor store had never heard of Praline Liqueur and suggested that I use Disarrono as a substitue. It worked marvelously!!! This will be a new favorite in my Thanksgiving menu!!! The only other change was I could not find Andouille and had to substitute sage sausage which also worked well. Im making it again tonight for some friends!! Thanks for such a great use for pumpkin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband said that this was the best soup he has ever eaten. I made the sausage into more of a grounded meat thickness, not really blending it completely. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My boyfriend loved this soup. We didn't use the praline liqueur, and used spicy Italian sausage instead of andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This soup is healthy and amazing...we made it with fresh pumpkin and a spicy gourmet chicken sausage and only pureed slightly so it was still chunky...left out the cream to cut down on calories and fat. Awesome and interesting. The whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Karaban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States