Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a very good soup the way it is written. If you don't puree it, you are not having this soup the way it is intended and are missing something! Just before I pureed it I had decided that the next time I made it I would probably cut back on the chicken both because it seemed a little "watery". But once I pureed it, (one cup at a time so it didn't explode out of the blender!) it was a rich and creamy and wonderful soup. That COMPLETELY changed the soup...for the better. I'm not a fan of spicy hot, but I did enjoy the andouille in this recipe, it isn't too spicy. I think next time I'm going to try a breakfast sausage though, just to try it a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I know this has been reviewed many, many times, but I just couldn't sit back and say nothing. This was OUTSTANDING. I couldn't find praline liqueur anywhere, so used maple syrup instead. It was truly a hit, and even for those I was concerned wouldn't like it. Definitely will be making this again, and not just for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Wonderful! I made this for a soup-sampler dinner and everyone loved it. I made the following substitutions: dark amber maple syrup instead of the liqueur, milk instead of cream and omitted the butter entirely. It was still delicious and everyone raved. Thank you for a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow, I really loved this one (and so did my guests). I was in a rush, so I had to use canned pumpkin, (one large can, and one small can). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made a few substitutions on this. I used ground hot sausage and half & half instead of what is recommended. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. The think the pureeing part is really necessary and really brings all the flavors together. Plus, it gives the soup a nice smooth texture. I served it with a spoon full of sour cream in the center of the bowl, sprinkled with green onions. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
WOW!!! Excellent! Used a pound of 'hot' sausage (no andouille) and it was SPICY (but grand). Not sure what 1.5 pounds of pumpkin is, but I used 4 cups and it had great flavor. No praline liqueur, but spiced rum added a great scent and flavor. Did cut back on the stock to only 4 cups (we like our soup thick) and used 8oz. evap. milk in place of the heavy cream. Used another reviewer's suggestion of topping with sour cream and loved it, though hubby preferred without. We found the flavor to be even better the next day. This was AWESOME soup and a recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Both my husband and I have taken this to work for potlucks where it was very well received. Since I used canned pumpkin, it didn't need to cook for the suggested 45 minutes. Everything just needs to heat through so the flavors can blend. Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is an incredible recipe. It warms you up inside and tastes the way a fall soup should, pure comfort. I didn't add the liquer, just extra chicken stock. I couldn't have been happier. I shared this at a church gathering and had many compliments. This will deffinately become a fall favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This has become my favorite fall soup. We made it for an OktoberFest party and it was a big hit. I used Chourico sausage which I liked better than the Andouille and Kaluah works well if you don't have praline liqueur. Also there is no need to puree - the lumps are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This soup was the biggest hit before I served Thanksgiving dinner! My family gave it rave reviews. I did make some minor adjustments. I ommited the praline liquor altogether. I used only a heaping tablespoon of packed brown sugar and I used regular italian hot sausage. This was my second time making it and I found that the brown sugar was very overpowering. It gave it a maple taste which was not a good flavor in pumpkin soup. My family and guests ate the entire pot, even those who do not like pumpkin pie loved it (me being one of them) Outstanding soup all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Shevlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States