Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a very good soup the way it is written. If you don't puree it, you are not having this soup the way it is intended and are missing something! Just before I pureed it I had decided that the next time I made it I would probably cut back on the chicken both because it seemed a little "watery". But once I pureed it, (one cup at a time so it didn't explode out of the blender!) it was a rich and creamy and wonderful soup. That COMPLETELY changed the soup...for the better. I'm not a fan of spicy hot, but I did enjoy the andouille in this recipe, it isn't too spicy. I think next time I'm going to try a breakfast sausage though, just to try it a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow, I really loved this one (and so did my guests). I was in a rush, so I had to use canned pumpkin, (one large can, and one small can). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made a few substitutions on this. I used ground hot sausage and half & half instead of what is recommended. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. The think the pureeing part is really necessary and really brings all the flavors together. Plus, it gives the soup a nice smooth texture. I served it with a spoon full of sour cream in the center of the bowl, sprinkled with green onions. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I did make a few changes to this recipe, due to diet and what was on hand. I used spicy italian turkey sausage, skim milk (thickened with a little cornstarch), and no butter. I still thought it was really good and would serve it to guests. I may, however, consider what other spices I could add to liven it up. Then again - if I served it to guests, I'd probably add the cream and butter - which may do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I tried this one several different times with different additions. I have used italian sausage and added some pumpkin pie seasonings such as ginger, cinnamon and cloves. My boyfriend loves it sweet so I usually punch up the brown sugar until it meets the taste requirement. A great recipe that you can tweek to your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Wonderful! Even people who didn't think they'd like pumpkin soup loved it! Thanks for a great recipe I'm sure I'll use a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Both my husband and I have taken this to work for potlucks where it was very well received. Since I used canned pumpkin, it didn't need to cook for the suggested 45 minutes. Everything just needs to heat through so the flavors can blend. Very easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I've been looking for a pumpkin soup that will appeal to both me & hubbie (who is not big on veggies) - this one fit the bill perfectly. He loved this soup, and we even shared the leftovers with my mom for lunch, who also loved it. We used spicy sausage that we had on hand which provided a little kick to the recipe, and partially pureed it (not completely smooth). Taste & texture were wonderful. Thanks for the reciep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was surprisingly excellent and very well received at a potluck. I used a medium-spicy sausage handmade by my FIL instead of buying Andouille and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I loved it! My husband did not, he's not fond of pumpkin. I thought it was amazing, made great work lunches and I recommend you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States