Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
this soup is amazing!! it has become a tradition in our family for both thanksgiving and christmas!! 7 years running!! i use butterscotch liquer and 2 15oz cans of pumpkin. it tastes just as good with sweet sausage if you have family members who don't do spicy!! love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I like the flavor with spicy sausage better. Also, I thought the recipe calls for too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I wasn't too sure about trying a pumpkin soup, but I am glad I did. My husband and children like it very much - to my suprise. You definitely must blend this soup. It makes all the difference. I tried it unblended -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was okay. I did like the spicy sausage and it was good for a fall day. I used spiced rum rather than the praline liquor. But it was really pumpkin-y. I'm not sure my husband liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Wonderful! I made this for a soup-sampler dinner and everyone loved it. I made the following substitutions: dark amber maple syrup instead of the liqueur, milk instead of cream and omitted the butter entirely. It was still delicious and everyone raved. Thank you for a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Wow! Great flavor, easy to make--I will make this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I know this has been reviewed many, many times, but I just couldn't sit back and say nothing. This was OUTSTANDING. I couldn't find praline liqueur anywhere, so used maple syrup instead. It was truly a hit, and even for those I was concerned wouldn't like it. Definitely will be making this again, and not just for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I really loved this. I used a pound of bulk spicy ground sausage. I also didn't have praline liquor so I used suger-free Kahlua syrup. I thought is was very good. My husband didn't like it, he thought it would be better as a savory soup without the syrup and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a very good soup the way it is written. If you don't puree it, you are not having this soup the way it is intended and are missing something! Just before I pureed it I had decided that the next time I made it I would probably cut back on the chicken both because it seemed a little "watery". But once I pureed it, (one cup at a time so it didn't explode out of the blender!) it was a rich and creamy and wonderful soup. That COMPLETELY changed the soup...for the better. I'm not a fan of spicy hot, but I did enjoy the andouille in this recipe, it isn't too spicy. I think next time I'm going to try a breakfast sausage though, just to try it a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow, I really loved this one (and so did my guests). I was in a rush, so I had to use canned pumpkin, (one large can, and one small can). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States