Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Although I did not use neither the liqueur nor the heavy cream this soup was still VERY delicious!! Thank you for a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tefnuit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was amazing I used Lousiana hot sasauge links the first time I made it and did use sugar pumpkins and although they were a pain to peel and cube it makes all the difference in the world, the second time I made this I used canned pumpkin and it just was not the same and way to sweet, I also subsituted ameretto in place of the praleened liquor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I'm afraid I have to go with the reviewer who described it as bland. After several tastes, I ended up examining some similar pumpkin and sausage soup recipes online, and served it with chipotle cream and cilantro, which helped bring the flavor out. However, neither my fiance or I could eat a full bowl. It would, however, be a decent small-portion side dish, perhaps served with tortilla chips or bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I absolutely adore this soup. I use canned pumpkin and then use a hand blender right in the pot to puree the sausage and onion pieces. I've served this to several guests now and everyone raves. Outstanding, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
my husband and I liked this. My kids didnt like it much...I made them eat it. I will make again just smaller amount. I used 1 lb ground Chorizo for the sausage, it was good flavor...maybe next time not so much broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
yummy yummy! I'm eating it right now and it is so very delicious! I wanted it to be low fat so I used turkey kabalsca, low fat cream cheese instead of butter and used half and half in place of the heavy cream I only used 1/4 cup of the half and half. I also used the maple syrup instead of liquore and added a tiny bit of chili powder since my sausage wasn't spicy. I added tyme, pepper and a bayleaf as it was simmering. My pumpkin was fresh and I used about 4 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I also substituted some things. I used crumbled italian sausage (out of the casing)(sweet, but I bet spicy would be great too). I used Frangelica liquor, I used half and half, and I spiced it up slightly with garlic powder. Oh, only used about 3 tbsp of brown sugar. Everyone loved the flavor, and because I used puree pumkin and crumbled sausage, I didn't have to do the very messy blending the soup. Served with hearty bread- Was a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
WOW! YUM! We loved it! I used Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausages, no butter, less brown sugar, added sage, spiced rum instead of praline liquor, and fat-free evaporated milk rather than cream. And, as others posted, it was SO good, perfect for this first cold and nasty day of fall! Definitely do puree it, but be careful, I blew the top off my blender because I put too much in at first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I've been making this soup for years, wife and coworkers have loved it every time. Pureeing in the blender is key, food processor won't do the same job and is messier. I usually use two 15 oz. cans of pumpkin puree, about eight cups of chicken broth, and a whole cup of heavy cream (to avoid wasting partial packages of these ingredients). Also, since I could never find praline liqueur, I use 1/4 c. of Frangelico (hazelnut liqueur) plus a 1 oz. container of almond extract. I am trying to figure a way to keep the sausage chunks, but still puree the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Modifications: half and half instead of cream, fresh thyme instead of dried, drambuie instead of praline liqueur, more onion, and about half a tablespoon of salt. I adjusted the serving amount to 5 servings. That way you can use one can of pumpkin puree (plain). It makes a good amount for two people. Husband had multiple servings and we have leftovers. Will definitely make this again, maybe with even more sausage. Crack some pepper on top when you're about to dig in- tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States