Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My boyfriend loved this soup. We didn't use the praline liqueur, and used spicy Italian sausage instead of andouille.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This soup is healthy and amazing...we made it with fresh pumpkin and a spicy gourmet chicken sausage and only pureed slightly so it was still chunky...left out the cream to cut down on calories and fat. Awesome and interesting. The whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suamato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was good, but I think next time I will add the sausage after I blend the soup. The blended sausage was a bit weird to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I don't actually eat meat, but I substituted Tofurkey Kielbasa and added some white pepper, black pepper, and cayenne pepper to replicate the flavor of Andouille. Other than that, I loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vnakoski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Spectacular! Just made one recipe to give it a try, success. I was surprised I could taste the sausage. I didn't find the praline liquor at the supermarket so used maple syrup as others suggested. Not wanting it too sweet I left out the brown sugar and added a dash of pumpkin pie spice and a bit of garlic. I used canned pumpkin for ease and a stick hand blender to puree in the pot. Piece of cake! Now I need to pick up the ingredients to quadruple the recipe for our Wednesday Advent service. So we bought a 20qt pot and made about 4 gallons for service. Everyone that tried it loved it! To this batch I added ground chipotle pepper to spice it a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Made this one night for my husband and his parents. They were really surprised at how well the pumpkin and sausage blended. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This soup was the biggest hit before I served Thanksgiving dinner! My family gave it rave reviews. I did make some minor adjustments. I ommited the praline liquor altogether. I used only a heaping tablespoon of packed brown sugar and I used regular italian hot sausage. This was my second time making it and I found that the brown sugar was very overpowering. It gave it a maple taste which was not a good flavor in pumpkin soup. My family and guests ate the entire pot, even those who do not like pumpkin pie loved it (me being one of them) Outstanding soup all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Shevlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I used Jimmy Deans Maple Sausage and Regular Sausage instead of the andouille. I also used Maple Syrup instead of the praline liqueur and half & half instead of the heavy cream. It turned out great, I'm trying my best not to eat all of it before dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This was super yummy! First time I made it following the directions, and it was good but kinda bland for me. So the second time I doubled the sausage, onion and thyme. It was great then! Warning, this makes a ton. I had enough for 4 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is the most amazing soup I've ever made. Don't mess with it people! It is perfect as is! Only thing I had to change was that I couldn't find praline liqueur in the liquor store, but bought a very nice macadamia liqueur. Was worried about it being too sweet but the andouille added enough spice to balance the sweetness out. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUKWONOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Elmo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States