Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
WOW!!! Excellent! Used a pound of 'hot' sausage (no andouille) and it was SPICY (but grand). Not sure what 1.5 pounds of pumpkin is, but I used 4 cups and it had great flavor. No praline liqueur, but spiced rum added a great scent and flavor. Did cut back on the stock to only 4 cups (we like our soup thick) and used 8oz. evap. milk in place of the heavy cream. Used another reviewer's suggestion of topping with sour cream and loved it, though hubby preferred without. We found the flavor to be even better the next day. This was AWESOME soup and a recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Extraordinary soup!!! Allrecipes staff: Please highlight this in a future email. It was terrific. I didn't bother pureeing anything because my husband liked "the chewiness" of the andouille. I also upped the amount of andouille to one pound and added additional heavy cream. I do think it is better served immediately and not the next day. It lost a little something when I had it for lunch. Also, I will reduce the amount of brown sugar -- don't think that will hurt it one bit to go to 1/3 cup or 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this on Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I used a little more cream than the reciped called for, adding it a little at a time while the soup simmered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I enjoyed this very much, but was the only one out of my husband and two sons. It's for a sophisticated palate. I ended up wasting more than half of it because I couldn't eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAGHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Omigosh - this IS the best. We had pumpkin soup in France a few years ago and I've been looking for a similar recipe. The only additions I made were 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice stirred in while simmering, and a good dollop of sour cream with some sprinkled on chives when serving. Who needs dessert?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Niles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is an incredible recipe. It warms you up inside and tastes the way a fall soup should, pure comfort. I didn't add the liquer, just extra chicken stock. I couldn't have been happier. I shared this at a church gathering and had many compliments. This will deffinately become a fall favorite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Excellent soup! We loved it. I used whole milk instead of cream and left out the brown sugar as well as the praline liqueur since I now live in Germany and couldn't find it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I doubled the recipe for work and everyone LOVED it. I used a half lb. andouille sausage and half lb. sweet Italian sausage to keep it from being too spicy-hot for my work colleagues. I also used Frangelico (hazelnut liqueur) since I didn't' have any praline liqueur. The taste of the soup was good before I pureed it, but after I pureed it and added the cream it was phenomenal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This has become my favorite fall soup. We made it for an OktoberFest party and it was a big hit. I used Chourico sausage which I liked better than the Andouille and Kaluah works well if you don't have praline liqueur. Also there is no need to puree - the lumps are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
I made this soup as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner, and noone had room left for the turkey! A flavourful, hearty soup for the winter months. N.B...Make sure it is properly pureed otherwise the sausage bits are a bit chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States