Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I like the flavor with spicy sausage better. Also, I thought the recipe calls for too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jalexandropoulos
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I wasn't too sure about trying a pumpkin soup, but I am glad I did. My husband and children like it very much - to my suprise. You definitely must blend this soup. It makes all the difference. I tried it unblended -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was okay. I did like the spicy sausage and it was good for a fall day. I used spiced rum rather than the praline liquor. But it was really pumpkin-y. I'm not sure my husband liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Wonderful! I made this for a soup-sampler dinner and everyone loved it. I made the following substitutions: dark amber maple syrup instead of the liqueur, milk instead of cream and omitted the butter entirely. It was still delicious and everyone raved. Thank you for a great fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Wow! Great flavor, easy to make--I will make this again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I know this has been reviewed many, many times, but I just couldn't sit back and say nothing. This was OUTSTANDING. I couldn't find praline liqueur anywhere, so used maple syrup instead. It was truly a hit, and even for those I was concerned wouldn't like it. Definitely will be making this again, and not just for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I really loved this. I used a pound of bulk spicy ground sausage. I also didn't have praline liquor so I used suger-free Kahlua syrup. I thought is was very good. My husband didn't like it, he thought it would be better as a savory soup without the syrup and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a very good soup the way it is written. If you don't puree it, you are not having this soup the way it is intended and are missing something! Just before I pureed it I had decided that the next time I made it I would probably cut back on the chicken both because it seemed a little "watery". But once I pureed it, (one cup at a time so it didn't explode out of the blender!) it was a rich and creamy and wonderful soup. That COMPLETELY changed the soup...for the better. I'm not a fan of spicy hot, but I did enjoy the andouille in this recipe, it isn't too spicy. I think next time I'm going to try a breakfast sausage though, just to try it a different way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Wow, I really loved this one (and so did my guests). I was in a rush, so I had to use canned pumpkin, (one large can, and one small can). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made a few substitutions on this. I used ground hot sausage and half & half instead of what is recommended. I also added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. The think the pureeing part is really necessary and really brings all the flavors together. Plus, it gives the soup a nice smooth texture. I served it with a spoon full of sour cream in the center of the bowl, sprinkled with green onions. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States