Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Wonderful soup! We used organic maple syrup instead of liquor and hot Italian sausage it was fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I'm rating this 2 stars because made as it is posted it somehow turned out all wrong for me. More of a thin broth with no pumpkin flavour, texture or colour. I ended up adding a lot more pumpkin in. It was homegrown, roasted pumpkin, which I strained, pureed, then added, instead of letting it cook in the soup. This made it a very quick soup, as I did not have to simmer for 45 min. I doubled the thyme and added a bit of rosemary. Used 3/4 cup 1% instead of the cream, left out the butter, and added salt. I didn't have praline liquer so I added a touch of maple extract. Not a bad thing! Overall, I was a bit worried I hadn't done enough to "save" the soup, but everyone loved it! We really enjoyed the chunks of sausage. Definitely excited to eat the leftovers and will be making it again seasonally. If you fiddle with the levels, you can't go wrong with this recipe. Thanks MARBALET :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Even though its the middle of july I was craving both soup & pumpkin (pregnancy cravings really don't care what season it is!) and this sounded so delicious its all I thought about for three days before I finally broke down and made it. I did use hot italian sausage and fat free milk since that's what I had on hand and I left out the liqueur as well as the butter this calls for to cook with the sausage since sausage is fatty enough as it is, I didn't think it was neccessary. I had a bowl before I pureed this and it was good that way, but so much better after being pureed! it gave the whole soup a nice sausage-y flavor in every bite. Next time I make this (and there will be several 'next time's) I will use a full pound of sausage and add some garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My family likes spicy foods and everyone thought this soup was awesome! Definitely had a kick with the andouille. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was unanimously agreed that this soup should become a new family tradition and will make an appearance every year at our Thanksgiving table. A caution, this is a pretty involved recipe -- I dirtied a lot of dishes and it took a long time to make. Not something I would be willing to make just any old night of the week, but for special occasions, the final product is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I'm cooking this now and can't wait to serve it. I couldn't find andouille sausage so I used spicy turkey sausage. I also added a few dashes of black pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We loved this soup! The next time I make this, I will have some pumpkin and sausage that is not pureed so that the soup is creamy with chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! I did change a few things too. I baked a whole sugar pumpkin and added it to the chicken stock, then substituted the andouille with italian sausage instead. Pureed the pumpkin and stock together then added the sausage, onion and cream warmed it up and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Multiplied the recipe for two nights' worth of dinner for my family of five, but my math was not precise to this recipe. Here's what I used: 5 of the Trader Joe's Chicken Andouille Sausages (1 package + 1), 2 medium/large onions, 3 15 oz cans pumpkin, and 3 32 oz cans stock. Also substituted granulated light brown sugar for the packed brown sugar and organic grade B maple syrup for the praline liqueur, and doubled those and everything else as called for. BE CAREFUL WITH THE BLENDER if you don't like searing hot pumpkin in your eyeballs. Very small amounts at a time. Learn from my mistake. Battle scars aside, my husband says this is the best soup he's ever had, and I'm pretty much in agreement. It is sort of an adult flavor, however. My littler kids are not so sure they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
this soup came out super tasty.. I modified and added skim milk and regular old maple syrup and it still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup is awesome. I couldn't find the sausage or the liqueor so I improvised. I used my local stores homemade Italian sausage and I used a syrup and added maple flavoring. I can't wait to serve for Thanksgiving. I will be making this often. I baked my own pumkin and sved the rest for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States