Pumpkin Zucchini Bread/ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just made this bread last night. De-lish! Because I had 1/2 C less zucchini, I increased the pumpkin by 1/2 C (So, 2C grated zucchini and 1C pumpkin). I also did not have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 1/2 t. each allspice, ginger, cloves and fresh grated nutmeg and about 1 t. cinnamon. I cut the sugar to two cups, using half white sugar and half brown sugar. I toasted the walnut pieces and threw in about 1/2 C chocolate chips. It totally hit the spot on a chilly evening. More like pumpkin bread than zucchini bread with my changes, which is fine by me! Thanks for the recipe Dubby Jr.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by red1190
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My 4 y.o. and I loved it! I tweaked it based on our preferences--1.5 c whole wheat flour, 1.5 c oat flour, 1 c coconut sugar, 1/2 c honey, 1/2 c applesauce, 1/4 c coconut oil, and no nuts. I made a dozen cupcakes and sprinkled some chocolate chips on top. I baked them for 25 min but they could have stayed in another 2-3 min. The loaf took an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My family loves this bread. I made some this afternoon. Instead of oil I used 3/4 cup of applesauce and I added 1/2 cup of mini marshmallows and 1/2 of milk chocolate chips. It takes about a hour to bake. I used decorative pans but it should still make 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hayes
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this recipe last night and it's absolutely to DIE for. I brought the loaf into work for my co-workers and everyone totally raved. It was so moist and SO tasty. Definitely saving this recipe. I also made this recipe but substituted Splenda instead of white sugar. It made a beautiful loaf, and will make you feel slightly less guilty for having a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious recipe that I made last night. I also made a few tweaks just because of what I had on hand, and per the other reviewers. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups, only used 1/4 cup melted coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil, 3/4 cup applesauce, 3/4 canned pumpkin, and 2 cups of grated zucchini (with one grated carrot mixed in). I made a dozen muffins that baked for about 25 minutes and one 8x8 loaf for an hour. The loaf I froze right away but the muffins are absolutely delicious. The kids love them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great combo! I used more pumpkin instead of oil and added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious, I had carrot and apples that needed used so i shredded some of those with the zucchini, and I added maple syrup, a little sour cream, and used 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of the pie spice. Toast the nuts! My husband loved it and we could eat this daily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Underwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made the recipe with only 1 1/4 C sugar, but did add a handful of chocolate chips. It tastes great and is very moist. I did muffins, which baked for 25 mins at 325 degrees and turned out great. The zucchini flavor is definitely hidden behind the pumpkin and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious. I also tinkered based on what I had - used 1 c. butternut squash puree and 2 c. zucchini, reduced sugar to 2 c. and replaced 1 c. of white flour with whole wheat. I wasn't intending to, but discovered zero eggs in my fridge so subbed in 3 T. ground flaxseed and 9 T. water (mix together and let sit a few minutes). Threw a few chocolate chips on top of a few of them to entice my 4-year old and they are a hit. I made as muffins as well and thought the 25 minute bake time recommended was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great Bread!! Even the kids like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States