Pumpkin Zucchini Bread/ Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Delicious recipe that I made last night. I also made a few tweaks just because of what I had on hand, and per the other reviewers. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups, only used 1/4 cup melted coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil, 3/4 cup applesauce, 3/4 canned pumpkin, and 2 cups of grated zucchini (with one grated carrot mixed in). I made a dozen muffins that baked for about 25 minutes and one 8x8 loaf for an hour. The loaf I froze right away but the muffins are absolutely delicious. The kids love them, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Just made this bread last night. De-lish! Because I had 1/2 C less zucchini, I increased the pumpkin by 1/2 C (So, 2C grated zucchini and 1C pumpkin). I also did not have pumpkin pie spice, so I used 1/2 t. each allspice, ginger, cloves and fresh grated nutmeg and about 1 t. cinnamon. I cut the sugar to two cups, using half white sugar and half brown sugar. I toasted the walnut pieces and threw in about 1/2 C chocolate chips. It totally hit the spot on a chilly evening. More like pumpkin bread than zucchini bread with my changes, which is fine by me! Thanks for the recipe Dubby Jr.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious, I had carrot and apples that needed used so i shredded some of those with the zucchini, and I added maple syrup, a little sour cream, and used 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of the pie spice. Toast the nuts! My husband loved it and we could eat this daily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Underwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by red1190
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My 4 y.o. and I loved it! I tweaked it based on our preferences--1.5 c whole wheat flour, 1.5 c oat flour, 1 c coconut sugar, 1/2 c honey, 1/2 c applesauce, 1/4 c coconut oil, and no nuts. I made a dozen cupcakes and sprinkled some chocolate chips on top. I baked them for 25 min but they could have stayed in another 2-3 min. The loaf took an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very good recipe that incorporated 2 of my favorites. Also it was easy to make. And I did reduce the sugar by substituting with some apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious. I also tinkered based on what I had - used 1 c. butternut squash puree and 2 c. zucchini, reduced sugar to 2 c. and replaced 1 c. of white flour with whole wheat. I wasn't intending to, but discovered zero eggs in my fridge so subbed in 3 T. ground flaxseed and 9 T. water (mix together and let sit a few minutes). Threw a few chocolate chips on top of a few of them to entice my 4-year old and they are a hit. I made as muffins as well and thought the 25 minute bake time recommended was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I made the recipe with only 1 1/4 C sugar, but did add a handful of chocolate chips. It tastes great and is very moist. I did muffins, which baked for 25 mins at 325 degrees and turned out great. The zucchini flavor is definitely hidden behind the pumpkin and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great combo! I used more pumpkin instead of oil and added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great Bread!! Even the kids like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I used coconut oil and Truvia instead of sugar! It turned out great! And I halved the calories! I used pecans instead of walnuts and next time I will try more pumpkin! Either way they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States