Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
After finding this recipe for Pumpkin Yeast Bread I read all the reviews and decided to adjust some of the ingredients. I increased the yeast to 1 Tablespoon and added 1/8 teaspoon of cloves. The rest I followed exactly. Boy, did this come out of my bread machine beautifully. My family really loved it and wanted me to make it again. The second time also came out great. We love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apurpleocean
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
i made this in my kitchenaid. used instant yeast,upped pumpkin to 1 cup and decreased the water to 2 T. this worked for me but you may need more or less water to make your dough workable.i then added everything but half the flour and mixed on speed 2 with the paddle attachment while adding rest of the flour in slowly. when everything is incorporated i switched to dough hook and kneaded on speed 4 for about 7 minutes. let rise in a greased bowl till doubled then shaped into a pumpkin. let rise until doubled then egg glazed it scored it from top to bottom to resemble the lines on a pumpkin.then added poppy seeds to the scores to make the lines stand out. my kids loved it. forgot, i used butter instead of margarine.EDIT: just wanted to give an idea of how i shaped this. first i cut off a small handleful of dough for the stem and rolled it into a cylinder then twisted it a little. then took remaining dough and shaped into a tight round. i then took my rolling pin , which has no handles and pushed it into the center of the dough till it touched the counter. it makes a little well for the stem to fit in. the dough will eventually rise and the stem will be sitting up high. stick the stem inside the well and let dough rise. i hope this helps..not the best person to explain things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apurpleocean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
I have a Toastmaster Bread and Dessert Maker and I put this on the basic setting. It rose about halfway and then sank, and came out only partially cooked. It was awful. Part of the problem is the recipe simply states "margarine" but doesn't say if the margarine is to be cut, softened, or melted for the recipe or if butter may be substituted. I used softened butter and that obviously didn't work. Clarification is needed by the author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was really good. I had no problems with the rising at all. I used my bread machine to form the dough, then I took it out and formed rolls with it. It produced approximately 16 small to medium rolls, and baked at 350 degrees for 20-23 minutes. This recipe has a light pumpkin spice flavor. Up the spices if you like a more bold spice flavor. I've made two batches so far; the entire family thinks they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
Grandkids and builing contractors both LOVE it but the fragrance tends to draw them indoors....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made a few changes, and the bread came out AWESOME, one of the best I've made in my breadmaker and I make bread all the time. I upped the yeast to 1 Tablespoon based on some of the comments. I added 1 Tablespoon of vital wheat gluten because I always do (if you can get your hands on this, it will greatly improve all of your bread) and I added 3/4 cup of finely chopped pecans because I had them and it seemed like it would go really well with the flavors in the bread (it did!). The finished loaf was high, with a beautiful color, taste and texture. I served it toasted and spread with a mixture of butter and honey. OMG!! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I made this bread yesterday and it came out wonderfully. I used fresh pumpkin puree which is sweeter than canned. I did not use a bread machine; I had no problem with it rising at all. I let it rise in the bowl for 1 hour, punched it down and put it in a bread pan, where I let it rise for another hour. It smelled yummy, is so feather light and moist! The taste is wonderful, just a hint of the pumpkin and spices, but not overwhelming. I will absolutely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
i made this the old fashioned way--no bread machine. it turned out beautifully. the color is fantastic, and the spices give it a nice taste, but no one could really tell it was pumpkin. for me, the pumpkin just gave it an interesting golden color, but not enough flavor to be recognized. it would be really great with country crock's cinnamon margarine or pumpkin spice margarine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! This was tasty. I have an overflowing amount of sweet potatoes. I subbed mashed sp with butter & honey (to make them more like a pumpkin puree). Subbed butter for the margarine. Wasn't sure what the conversion of 5/8 c water was so I used 10 T. The top caved in just a tiny bit but this seems to happen alot. I think my kids are too busy peaking. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
I added raisins to this recipe and my husband loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States