Pumpkin Yeast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was pretty bland. Not much pumpkin flavor. We threw all but 1/2 a slice away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This recipe made a very tall, light fluffy loaf in my bread machine that bakes 1-1/2 pound loaves. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle. Based on suggestions I melted the margarine in with the water. I'm very pleased with the results and my house smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this for a family gathering. Everyone loved it. It has a mild pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Sorry I didn't read the reviews first, or I would probably have skipped this recipe. Bread with a pumpkin color and very little flavor, other than bread, was not what I was looking for, and I'm new enough at the bread machine thing not to want to make alterations, except to spices and such. It did turn out with similar texture to the other (plain) breads I've made so far, which was relatively reassuring. At least it didn't fall like a souffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is hearty and fragrant when made with half whole wheat flour and half white flour. I also used honey in place of the brown sugar. Wonderful on it's own, ven better with pumpkin apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I think it generally tastes good. I didn't use bread machine, just my 2 hands. Little bland, but then again this is not a Pumpkin bread recipe, it is pumpkin bread bread that you probably would have to put some butter and jelly on it to make it tastes better like regular bread. I used extra pumpkin to make the bread more yellow, and added more flour to get the right consistency. Its a good bread recipe overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
After finding this recipe for Pumpkin Yeast Bread I read all the reviews and decided to adjust some of the ingredients. I increased the yeast to 1 Tablespoon and added 1/8 teaspoon of cloves. The rest I followed exactly. Boy, did this come out of my bread machine beautifully. My family really loved it and wanted me to make it again. The second time also came out great. We love this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rahway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! This was tasty. I have an overflowing amount of sweet potatoes. I subbed mashed sp with butter & honey (to make them more like a pumpkin puree). Subbed butter for the margarine. Wasn't sure what the conversion of 5/8 c water was so I used 10 T. The top caved in just a tiny bit but this seems to happen alot. I think my kids are too busy peaking. We really enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I followed the directions exactly and found that this bread had very little pumpkin flavour. The bread itself came out nice and soft but just pretty much tasted like normal bread. The outer crust seemed to have a bit more flavour but it wasn't pumpkin it was the spices. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I actually just used this recipe for inspiration: I had about a cup of overcooked pattypan squash that I was loathe to throw in the compost. I omitted all of the liquid in this recipe but used molasses in place of the sugar; spices included ground cinnamon, ground nutmeg and ground cloves (and I could've added more of each!). I added the raisins early (my machine, too, has a tendency to leave them in the bottom of the pan if I wait 'til the "beep") and I was expecting the mixing blade to puree them (hey, it's happened before!) but they remained intact. The bread sank ever-so-slightly but in general rose beautifully; the color and texture are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States